Perspective

While I was in Nashville last week I had the honor of attending several amazing trainings and listening to lots of motivational speakers.  Some of their messages were so powerful, I’m going to share a little bit of what I learned from one of them today.  I’ll likely bring you other snippets in the weeks to come, but there’s too much for one post!

DeWitt Jones is a photographer who has worked with and been published in National Geographic.  His message, or at least what I got out of it, was that life and all it’s beauty is about perspective.

I can’t show his photographs (which are absolutely brilliant, just Google him and I’ll bet you’ll see what I’m talking about) but suffice to say, they really helped him make his point.  Imagine a field of flowers.  Very pretty, right?  But what if you drop down on your knees.  Angle the camera differently.  Change your perspective.  What was once a very pretty field of flowers is now a monument of eye popping color.  Sunlight beams through the petals of one individual flower.  Now imagine that your problem, your puzzle, your decision is overwhelming you.  What if you take a step back.  Do a little research.  Make a small change to your attitude or your viewpoint.  The problem is now nothing like it was.  Now it’s a learning experience.

I’ll give you an example from my own life.  For years I thought I could never be truly healthy.  I figured I was destined to be overweight, out of shape, and probably a cardiac patient before I was 50.  I was well on my way.  At age 30 I was diagnosed as having high blood pressure.  My cholesterol was creeping up at every physical.  My blood sugars were doing the same.  My future was pretty bleak.  I would be luck to make it to age 60 the way I was going.  I wasn’t outwardly that bad off, but everything hurt.  My joints were suffering under the extra weight I was carrying.  Going up stairs made me winded.  Not unlike a lot of people, I was just suffering in silence.

One day I shifted my perspective.  I changed my viewpoint.  I could be healthy.  I could be active.  It wasn’t going to be easy, but if I did the work, it could happen.  Slowly, for sure, but I saw the big picture for the first time.  I didn’t want to die young and be miserable until that day came!  I took the first step.  It hurt!  I took the second.  It wasn’t much better.  But I kept taking those steps.  Day after day, step after step and my perspective continued to shift.  I got healthy.  I got active.  My blood work came back to normal levels (even better than normal!) and my blood pressure regulated to a normal level as well!  I came off my meds after over 10 years on them!

Am I always going to be healthy?  I sure hope so, and I’ll do what I can to make that happen.  But in the mean time, I continue to see life from a new perspective.  When something doesn’t add up, doesn’t seem right, I look for that new angle.  That new way of looking at a problem until it comes in to focus more clearly.

We all have problems.  Choosing how we look at them can make the difference between giving up and making your dreams come true!  How do you need to change your perspective today????

018d1c77b092fc6fd7fd062633ad86a41adeef9e64 014c29231c780422fd14c8419b9468e7af29979550

Leave a Reply

