Yes, You CAN!

I am going to tell you something you may not know.  You know that thing you’ve always wanted to do?  That thing you think is impossible and you’ll never be able to accomplish it?  Yeah, you know what I mean.  I’m going to let you in on a secret.

You can.  I mean YOU.  CAN.

I don’t know what YOUR thing is.  It might be physical.  It might be career or family related.  It might be a “bucket list” item.  No matter what it is, just know that you can.  You can do anything.  Truly.

40eff75dfd68463f96814f002c6272c8

Will it be easy?  Maybe not!

Will you fail?  Possibly.

Will you have to work for it?  If it’s worth it, absolutely.

The thing is, we are capable of SO much more than we give ourselves credit for.  And I’m speaking from experience here.

See, the thing is, I never had much confidence growing up.  I always compared myself to the girls around me that I considered prettier.  Smarter.  More athletic.  More talented.  More affluent.  It didn’t stop when I reached adulthood.  I wish I could say it did, but it didn’t.  It honestly still continues to a lesser extent, but I’m working on that.

You see, I’ve learned rather recently that “comparison is the thief of joy.”  I heard that recently on a National Wake Up Call that Team Beachbody coaches listen to each week.  Last week, Sommer Tucker, who is a very successful Elite Coach, was talking to us and I’m completely misquoting her here, but basically, we all have the same potential.  What we do with it is up to us!  I mean, we all have the same 24 hours in a day.  We all need to sleep.  We all are busy.  We all have access to the same tools (as coaches), so if I’m not successful, it’s on me!  Not on my coach.  Not on my corporate office.  Not on my clients!  It’s on me.  If I don’t do the work, I won’t have the success!  Duh!  Light bulb!!!!

I have compared myself to other runners.  To other moms.  To other coaches.  To other women.  But I don’t know their story!  I don’t know what makes them unique!  I only know what makes ME unique! I know my struggles.  I know my background.  It may not all be pretty, but it’s what makes me ME!  That’s all I can offer, and it’s enough!

I need, we all need, to get out of our heads an stop comparing ourselves to others.  We need to stop letting our brain tell our body what to do.  I had this exact thing happen to me on a run last night.  I knew I could do the workout.  We ran hill repeats.  I did my best and felt just fine!  On the cool down run back to the car I completely lost it.  I just couldn’t go on!  I walked a bit.  I ran/walked/ran/walked back to the car.  I was down about it for a bit, but then I realized I had let my head talk my body out of running!  Why?  I have no idea…. but I don’t plan to let it happen again!  I CAN do it!  I know I can!

The thing is, I can do anything.  You can do anything.  We are capable of more than we give ourselves credit for, on a daily basis sometimes.

Get out of your head.  If you have a dream, go after it!

NewPicture

I have a dream.  I have big dreams.  I will see them through to the end!!!  And then…. I’ll keep dreaming!

2 thoughts on “Yes, You CAN!

Leave a Reply

