Yeah, Well…

Life is crazy.  Right?  I mean, we make the plans, we have the best of intentions, but sometimes things just don’t work out like we think they should and we fall short.  It happens.

It’s what happens in our heads when things happen that truly shows what kind of people we are.  How we react to the missteps, the unexpected, the crazy.

Are you someone who flies off the handle?  Who blames others when things go astray?  Do you sit around and mope when you aren’t getting what you want out of life?  Or, do you pick yourself up, dust yourself off, make a new plan.  Focus on the big picture?  Trust me, I’ve been both of these people in my life.  I’m working hard to stop being the first one.  I think it’s working!

Change is hard for me.  A change in routine used to set me off in the worst way, just ask my husband.  But I’m learning that a little adjustment is NOT the end of the world.  I won’t let it completely derail my day anymore.  I might complain for a few minutes, but then I make a new plan or adjust accordingly and move forward.  Keeping a positive attitude isn’t always easy, but it’s become who I am down deep, and I’m really proud of that change.

This week hasn’t been perfect.  It should have been.  My son was supposed to get his driver’s permit today.  He didn’t, because on Monday he fell back to sleep after I left for work and missed his class.  Now he has to wait a few weeks and make up that one class before he gets it.  I was pretty annoyed for a bit, but then I realized that it was just a bump.  Nobody died.  The future isn’t bleak.  It’s just a bump.  We move forward.  We change plans, and we deal with consequences.  Having that attitude is making all the difference.

I keep having so much on my plate that I don’t get an opportunity to update this blog as often as I want to.  I won’t let it get me down.  It’s just a blog!  It’s just me getting my voice out there in the universe.  I’m not even sure anyone reads it, and that’s just fine!  I’ll keep plugging along and doing my best.  Attitude of positivity.  I can do this!

0121ef6283067deeefa717cc6529865ccd5ae3368d

I have a fun weekend planned.  I won’t get a lot of work done.  At first that thought made me sick!  I need to keep working!  I don’t want to let my team down!  But you know what??  I need this.  I need this break REALLY badly!  So I’m going to take it.  I’ll even take my computer and check in once or twice… maybe.  I might not.  Dare I say I may unplug??  Nothing that drastic, I always have my phone!!!!  But I want to continue to help people.  It’s my mission!  It’s my calling!  I won’t give up!  One weekend away won’t change that.  Breathe, Nikki…..

Ok, that’s all I have for the moment.  Breathe.  Enjoy your life.  Focus on the big picture.  When things go wrong…. make a new plan!

2 thoughts on “Yeah, Well…

  1. I read your blog, so keep writing. Have a great weekend off. You deserve it. We will be here when you get back….Breath… 🙂

    Like

    1. You are awesome! I’m so glad to have such positive people around me! I know it’s not easy, and we aren’t always perfect, but you never give up. I totally admire that about you!

      Like

Leave a Reply

