Constantly Learning

I’m one of those people who love to learn.  I always have.  Ever since I was a kid.  I love to read, to research, to write, to explore.  I may not be the most adventurous, but learning is an adventure to me no matter the subject.

Since I came back from Summit this summer, I’ve been committed to reading books that teach me something.  I think I’ve read five or more in just a couple of months!  It’s amazing the amount you can read when you dedicate a few minutes a day to learning.  I’m interested in so many things, it’s not hard for me to dig in and learn, but right now I am reading something that I truly think will change my life for the better.

I have had the pleasure of connecting with some amazing women, a couple of fellow coaches and some who are just learners like me, and we have hooked up to read some great books.  The first we just finished, which was “You Are A Badass” which I talked about already.  It’s a great book, for real, everyone should read it.  It’s badass!

This week we started in a slightly different direction to read “Made To Crave; Satisfying Your Deepest Desire With God, Not Food” by Lysa TerKeurst.  I’m only on chapter two.  This book has already made an impact on me!

I make no secret that I’m a Christian.  I’ve identified as one my whole life.  I’ve been a church member since I was 18.  I sing and lead worship on a regular basis, have been the choir, have attended Bible study, have even taught Sunday School.  But lately, my relationship with God has been a bit rocky, at least on my side.  This is all on me, I know He’s there, I’ve just been avoiding Him.

Today the thing that’s hitting me most from just the first chapter and introduction of this book is that it’s easier to make excuses than changes.  God made us human, He gave us cravings.  We are supposed to use those cravings to get us closer to God, not to worldly things!  But we have to WANT TO change.  Knowing how is not the problem.  We’ve been told how our whole lives.  Eat better, move more.  Duh.  But WANTING to change, now there’s the hard part.  I’ve managed to get healthier and fitter than I’ve ever been, but I still struggle daily with food.  Seriously, I’m falling apart a lot lately and I’m not happy with it.  I have been giving in much more than is healthy and it’s starting to show.  Not just in my body, but in my mind, and in my heart I know I have to change.  I want to change.  I’m ready to get in touch with how this is effecting me and figure out a way to crave things that are beneficial to me.  So ready.

And that’s the thing.  God made us to crave.  He made us to enjoy food.  He made food to nourish us, to keep us strong.  So that we can do His work!  That’s why He said that everything is permissible (to eat) but not everything is beneficial.  I’m paraphrasing here, but you get the point.  It’s not that I can’t eat the cookie… but do I really NEED the cookie??  Sometimes, maybe I do, but I would guess that a lot of the time the answer is truly no and I just eat it anyway.  Well, those days are coming to an end.  Time to give my cravings to God.  Time to get closer to Him and the woman He wants me to be.  I’m so ready, Lord.  I plan to write about it as often as I can.  By the time I’m done, I have a feeling I won’t be able to shut up about it anyway!!!  If you don’t know my heart, you will very soon.

It’s time.

Leave a Reply

