More Than A NumberIs

There are something like 7 billion people in the world.  You are just one.  Sometimes I think about that and feel so insignificant!

But you know what?  That just makes you unique.  That means you might have to make a difference in the world if you want to stand out.  But that also means you have to define your own reality.

I think as a woman in modern America we tend to define ourselves and our reality in many different ways.  We are daughters, sisters, wives, mothers, friends, employees, but we are also defining ourselves by things like overweight, not good enough, un-loveable, unable to win at anything.

That’s what we need to stop.  Like right now.

Because you are more than a number on the scale.  You are more than your past.  You can rise above all that and stand out and make a difference in your life, and in the lives of others.

You can!

But how?  It’s not like it’s easy to get over the fact that you gained 30 pounds since high school.  Or 50.  Or 100…. right?  No, I’m not saying it’s easy.  But it’s possible.

So where do we start re-defining ourselves?  I think every decision we make throughout the day, and I’m even talking about the small things, should be put through this little test to give up perspective.  It’s just something you can ask yourself, and since I started doing it I’ve felt some freedom in my decisions, and a greater strength that I knew I had in me!  Are you ready?

Ask yourself these three questions:

  • Is this true?
  • Is this beneficial?
  • Is this necessary?

People will say I’m obsessed with fitness or with which foods I’m choosing.  I don’t think it’s an obsession, I just have a focus I never had before and it’s made me stronger, both physically and mentally, and that makes people think I’ve changed as a person.  Believe me, I struggle every day. I’m far from perfect! But since I started asking these questions and really listening to God for the answers, I think I’ve re-defined my reality!

I’m more than the number on the scale.  I’m more than a wife, a mom, an employee.

I’m a beloved child of God.  He cares about what I put in my body and how I use my body to honor Him.

I believe this.  I’m living this.  I always have work to do, and for that I’m thankful.

God is helping me re-define my reality.  He wants to help you too.  Won’t you start to crave His presence instead of that cheeseburger???  It’s up to you to start the work.  Once you do, He will help you continue!

Leave a Reply

