Does Exercise Make You Want To Cry?

I used to be right there with you.  Used to be.  Some days I still am right there, but mostly now I look forward to exercise.

How did that happen?  I have no idea, other than I just love the results and how it feels when I’m done!

You see, about five and a half years ago, I was what you would call a couch potato.  I came home from work and sat on the couch.  As much as possible.  And I rarely got off the couch.  Until it was time for bed.

One day, while eating junk food and watching The Biggest Loser, I realized that what I was doing was killing myself.  I wasn’t prepared to feel so overwhelmed.

It was time to make a change.

No, it wasn’t that simple, but it wasn’t much more complicated.

I knew I had to make some changes.  I wasn’t truly prepared for the journey ahead that it would require to get healthy, but I knew it was something I had to do before it was too late.

I wasn’t prepared to change my eating habits at that point, but I figured if I could start to move more, I could see some changes.  So I started running.  Yeah, running.  What the heck?  I don’t run!  Unless someone is chasing me with a knife (which thankfully has never happened) I don’t run.

Well, I didn’t run.  Until I just sucked it up and started.  It took a while, but one day I realized I actually loved running.  Running was a time for me to work through the problems of the universe.  Time to pray and listen to God, or just to lose myself in a good song for a time.  When I ran I felt powerful, felt like there was nothing I couldn’t handle.  Running made me so much stronger, physically AND mentally.

I was a runner.  And I wanted more.

I started to crave the physical exertion it took to run and wanted to challenge myself in different ways.  I did P90X, yes, that crazy extreme program you see on the info-mercials.  It’s extreme.  I love it.  I am in love with the results it gives, the discipline it takes, the community I’ve found in my Team Beachbody family.

I no longer want to cry when I think about exercise.

I don’t really know when or how my mind was changed, I just know it did.  I had to lace up the shoes, throw on the clothes and just do it.  Every day.  Yes, every single day.  Now, this far into my journey, I am able to take a day or two off when my body is hurting or over-tired or whatever, but I’m back on the schedule as soon as possible.  It’s about being smart and not hurting myself.  But I also have to keep on pushing, moving forward, working out to make my body as strong as possible.

Exercise doesn’t make me want to cry anymore.  I know you might not be there yet, but you can.  Believe me, you can.

Leave a Reply

