Stress Much?

I’ve known for a long time that I’m a stress eater.  It’s been a problem even since puberty!  It continues to this day!

But how do we stop when we know stress is a trigger?  Avoid stress, right?

Yeah, right.

I’m a mom.  I’m a wife!  I have a full-time job and other life commitments.  I’m trying to be the best coach and friend I can be.  I have so many things I WANT to do, things that bring me big joy, but can also cause me stress when I over-schedule myself.

Sound familiar?

Life gets messy.  It’s just life!  Things beyond our control happen every day.  It’s how we handle them, how we deal with the stress that can either bring us victory or lead us down a spiral that leads to more stress.

Because overeating brings more stress.  Not that one bad meal or whatever is going to make us gain 20 pounds, but if for you it leads to a spiral of days or weeks of overeating or poor food choices, it certainly can go that far.

So, what do we do to stop the cycle of stress eating?  I’m learning that turning those stresses over to God helps a lot.  Write it out.  Take a step back.  Pray.  Meditate.  Go for a walk.  Whatever it takes for you to leave that stress behind and focus on the bigger picture of your overall health.

Imagine the victorious feeling of making smart food choices while under stress!  I’ve done it, I’ve been doing it recently even.  It’s amazing.  And I’m reaping the benefits of those decisions in a couple different ways!

The scale is showing me some love today.  That is a small thing, and it’s not my main focus, but it’s helping me stick to my plan.

I’m feeling closer to God by giving my cravings and my stresses to Him.  I think that’s the biggest victory!

It’s almost Halloween.  I don’t really do much for it, usually.  I’ve even been avoiding handing out candy for the past few years just so I don’t have it in the house.  But it’s in the stores!  It’s in my office!  How will I stay strong this year and NOT eat it?  I have no idea.  But I will, because I’m giving that craving over to God and asking Him to take away my chocolate cravings and instead replace it with something stronger, a desire to grow closer to Him.

Will I succeed?  Not without some prayer and a plan.  Thank goodness I have both!

Stress much?  Yeah, pretty much, every single day.  But I will win this battle.

Leave a Reply

