Reality Check

Sometimes we all need a reality check.  I know I do, anyway.

I’m one week in to my 21 Day Fix.  The workouts are going great, I’m finally not as sore as I was most of last week.  Autumn (the trainer) is a butt kicker!!!  The food thing…. always where I struggle.

So it’s time to do a reality check for myself.  What’s the deal, girl?  How is it truly going?  Honestly, it was great the first five days.  Day six wasn’t a total wash, but I was definitely over in carbs, but I ran 5 miles with my friends which always makes me hungrier.  End of the world?  Not necessarily.

Day seven?  Yeah, let’s talk about that for a second.

That was the day I literally couldn’t stop eating.  Like all day.  Dude!  I’m not going to beat myself up about it, but for real… what the heck?

So I’m starting week 2 today.  I’m the same weight I’ve been from the beginning, but that’s not really my true goal doing this program.  Or is it?

That’s my reality check for today.  What’s my true goal by sticking with this three week program, probably two times, before the new one comes out in December that I’ve been looking forward to since July?

Goal number one:  finish the program.  For real, stick to it, don’t miss a workout.

I’ve done that.  I’m on track.  That feels great.

Goal number two:  stick to the meal plan as many days as I possibly can, knowing that there are a few days in there that will be super difficult, like Thanksgiving and our annual girl’s day in Chicago.

Ok, I’m 5/7 on that so far.  I’d like to see that improve this week.  I have no excuses for the next seven days.  Reality is, I can and need to stay on track every day until Thanksgiving if I want to see some results.  I know without a doubt that the nutrition side of any program is 80% of your results.  If I cheat myself out of the meal plan, I’m cheating myself out of all the hard work I’m putting into the workouts.

Goal number three:  look like Chalene.

I know, I know… but I’m not her and I shouldn’t compare myself to another person, especially one who has been fit her entire adult life, right?  YES!  But…. there’s a reason I put this here.  Bear with me a minute.

I love a challenge.  I also have a pretty good handle on how much I can and should expect with my body.  No, I’ll probably never have her EXACT physique without some surgical intervention (can we say stretch marks?  Thank you babies…) but, she’s been my “goal” body for a while.  She’s about the same height and body shape as me.  I love the amount of muscle she has, not too much, not too little.  She looks amazing in clothes!  That’s what I want.  Will I still wear Spanx under my dresses?  Probably, she probably does too.  Reality is, well… reality.

Perfection is a myth.  Physically, mentally, I want to feel like I pushed myself as far as I can and have energy to spare.  This girl exudes every bit of confidence I want to feel, and I will.  I’m confident in my ability, now I have to be confident in my follow through.

I can do this.

You can do this.  If you desire it enough and are willing to put in some work.

Reality check:  you are what you eat.  And if you really want something, you’ll find a way.  If you don’t, you’ll find an excuse.

Leave a Reply

