Love Thyself

Being a woman can be tough.  Heck, being a human is tough!  So often I hear my friends talk about how much they don’t like themselves, and I’m guilty of this as well.  But you know what?  We need to cut that out.

We are beautiful.  You are beautiful!

We have our issues, every single one of us.  We think we are fat.  We hate our noses or our teeth.  Maybe we just don’t like our height or the size of our feet.  Well, you know what?  NONE of that matters!

There is a whole lot of hate going around lately.  A lot of it against the terrorists that are making life very uncomfortable because you never know where or when they will attack.  But instead of focusing our attention and our hate on them, we are doling out on each other!

What?????

Why?  Why are we attacking our fellow human beings who are, in general, good people who are afraid.  Those who are speaking their opinions.  Those who are trying to make sense of the world as they know it as it begins to implode all around them.

It makes no sense to me.

I’m not going to get into politics, that is not something I’m interested in at all, and I won’t make this blog a debate for anyone who wants to argue the position for or against government or religion.  There are plenty of blogs and articles about that, so if you want a fight, just keep looking.

No, this post is about loving.  Mainly loving yourself.  Because you are beautiful.

You might be overweight, you might be unhappy with your life, you might be happy as a clam and living on cloud nine!  But if you’re struggling with loving yourself, I want you to know one thing.  You.  Are.  Beautiful.

Hands down, a lovely human being.

How do I know this?  Because you are breathing.  You are intelligent.  You are capable.  You are loved.

But first, you need to love yourself.  This can be a difficult thing for someone who maybe never even thought about loving themselves.  Someone with a low self-esteem, who doesn’t think they are worthy of love.  I know one little blog post might not change your mindset, but if I can lead you on a path that will begin to help you see how wonderful you are, then I’ve done what I set out to do.

See, the coolest thing happened to me when I began to love myself.  I changed.  I’m still me, in fact I would argue that I’m more myself than I’ve ever been.  I learned in the process of losing weight, of transforming myself into the athlete and coach I am now, that I’m a pretty powerful and badass woman.  I am awesome.

I don’t say that to toot my own horn, but to tell you that YOU can do it too.  You can feel worthy, beautiful, powerful, and badass.  If you’re ready, the world is waiting for you to take control of your life and live to your potential, no matter what your shoe size!

Doesn’t it feel awesome just to know that you have the power to change you?  We may not be able to change foreign policy.  Stop a war.  End the threat of violence.  But we sure as heck can change how we feel about the reflection in the mirror.

It takes a bit of hard work, some research, and a lot of self-reflection.  For me, it’s meant I’ve had to restructure my daily schedule.  We are what we do daily, after all.  I have to make myself get up early.  Read a bit of a really good book that teaches me something.  Write a blog post several times a week.  Yes, this is part of my own therapy!  Then I exercise my body.  I make myself stronger with every healthy choice.  Every bottle of water.  Every early bedtime.

I’m still a glorious mess most days.  But now instead of letting that be all I am, I focus on the good things.  On the intelligent, strong, powerful person I am.  I’m beginning to see that I’m beautiful, inside and out.  Do I still have physical things I want to change?  Duh…. I think I always will.  But I love myself.

Isn’t it time you start loving yourself and treating yourself like the very important person you are?  You are beautiful.  You know that, right?

You are.

Leave a Reply

