Always Learning

I’ve said it before, I’m an eternal student.  I just love to learn!  Get me on a subject I am passionate about, and it’s ON!  I soak up as much as I can because I want to know things.

Are you passionate about something?  It doesn’t have to be what I’m passionate about, but I think we all should have something that makes us excited to learn.

If you hadn’t guessed, my current passion is food, health and fitness.  Yes, I say all three because they are all so closely related.  You can’t get truly fit and healthy without the right foods.  I’m not just talking weight loss either, although that certainly can be a side effect of good overall health, but I want to be healthy from the inside out.  I’m working on it.

Today my reading from Superlife was centered around meat and protein and how our bodies process it and the good and bad things we get from protein and which sources are healthiest for us.  Thrilling reading?  Maybe not.  But when you are learning something that means something to you, it sure can be enlightening.

I’m not doing this research to get a degree or write a book, although that may come down the road.  I never want to limit my options!  I’m doing this because I absolutely love learning!

When I started as a coach, even before that when I did my first round of P90X, I was asked a lot about my “why”.  Why did I want to get fit?  Why did I want to be a coach?  What was my motivation?  What did I hope to gain from it?

My why hasn’t really changed, but it has evolved a little.  I still want to be as healthy as possible so I can live a long and active and healthy life, and to be an active fun grandma someday (a very long time from now!).  For real, I see other women my age who are declining in their health and I just want to get better with age, not let that number define me.  I will beat the odds, too.  My dad died when he was 48.  I’m 43 now.  I think I have at least another 40 years!!!!  I couldn’t say that a decade ago.  I saw myself dying young back then…. not so much now!

My why to coach is still the same as well.  I want to inspire and help people live as healthy and fit lives as they possibly can!  I know that Beachbody has some amazing tools to do just that.  They are coming out with new things all the time too!  But as much as I focus on fitness, and I love my workouts, I’m really starting to focus on what we put in our bodies more than what we do in the gym.

I’m not talking perfect clean eating here.  There is some wiggle room.  How much is up to you.  Some say the 80/20 rule works for them; eat clean 80% of the time, leaving a little wiggle room for “treats” or whatever.  That may work for some.  Some say 90/10!  That will get you in amazing shape, but will it be your happy place?  I don’t know, that’s for you to decide!  For me, I’m leaning the 80/20 way for the moment.  It will change and evolve as I move toward new goals.

Anyway, I am learning every day.  I love it!  It makes me excited to wake up and learn and make myself the best version of me I possibly can.  In just a few weeks, Beachbody is going to release their latest fitness program and I am super excited about it!  I’ll be talking more about it in the coming weeks, but my plan is to get a small group of people on my team to commit to the 60 day plan and do it TOGETHER!  In the comfort of your own home (or gym) but we will support each other daily through a private Facebook group.  This will be for my clients, and you will get a daily dose of me, what I’m going through, what I’m eating, and a daily kick in the butt if that’s what you need!!!

I’m planning to get great results, even starting during the holidays!  I know it can be done!  You ready to keep learning?  What’s your passion?  Who’s ready to get chiseled????  It’s coming!!!

hammer 5

Leave a Reply

