Winds Of Change

It has been a VERY windy month here in Michigan.  I live not too far from the shores of Lake Michigan which is one of the most beautiful places on earth.. not that I’m biased or anything!  But this month it has been super windy!

The snow is coming, likely tonight and tomorrow.  Yippee.  I’m not a huge fan of winter, but it comes every year like clockwork.  I try to embrace it, enjoy the beauty in it, and it is truly beautiful.

Like the weather, there are constant changes going on inside all of us.  I’m learning to love those too, because there is beauty in change.

Some changes are uncomfortable.  We hold back on changes that scare us.  The unknown is itself a very scary thing sometimes!  But change is good.  How do we know which changes we should make?  That’s a tough question, and I’m not sure I can answer that.

It takes a lot of learning, experimenting, growing, reflecting, and listening to discern which changes will work for us, and which won’t.  And we won’t always get them right.  But we can learn from our failures.

I used to think that I had to have all the answers.  That I had to be perfect in everything I tried the first time I tried it.  Boy, was I wrong!

The older I get, the more I realize that not only do I NOT have to get it right the first time, but there is beauty in every failure!  I’ve fallen flat on my face more times than I can count, but I’ve come out stronger every time.

So, the winds of change are coming.  They are all around us, every day, if we know what we are looking for.  If we are just still enough to hear what those changes will bring.  That isn’t as easy as it sounds, is it?  But I’m saying this for myself as much as for whoever reads this.

Slow down.  Listen.  Learn.  You’ll be glad you did.

Embrace the changes in you.  You’re tougher than you think!

 

Leave a Reply

