You Are Awesome!

I’m sure you already know this stuff, because you are pretty amazing.  But sometimes it’s just something we need to hear and put out there in front of us, so that’s the point of today’s post.

It’s Tuesday, which means yesterday was Monday.  Sometimes I dread Monday’s as much as the next person and this week I had every reason to be a huge Debbie Downer and sulk about it being Monday.  But I made a decision when I got up to be positive.  To not let things get to me.  It actually works!   Was the day perfect?  No, not really.  It wasn’t an easy day, but I survived and got to help a lot of people.  Not everything was perfect, but really, that’s not the point, is it?

Life isn’t perfect.  It’s not supposed to be!  But life can be awesome when we choose to be happy with what we have and seek to help others.

This is why I am in the professions that I’m in.  Yes, there are multiple things I do, for a living and for hobbies.  Every day I seek to help people in some way.  Daily it affirms that I’m doing the right thing and always sets a smile on my face!

I’m an optician by day.  That means I get to help people choose their eyewear, make sure they can see well, that their glasses fit properly.  It’s a complicated job that I take seriously and am proud of having done for the past 17 years.

I’m also a Beachbody coach.  That means I have a team of people that I get to coach through their programs, things like P90X, Insanity, 21 Day Fix…. there are so many options!  I do this because I’ve been through them.  I’ve lost 50 pounds with the help of these programs, I know they work, and I want to pay it forward and help others feel as great as I do!  If you’re not on my team… we need to talk!

I’m a musician.  This was my first passion and what I went to school for.  I was going to be a music teacher but decided that wasn’t what was best for me, so now it’s my hobby passion.  I sing/play at church and love every single minute of it!  I get to share my talent and my love of music with people who truly appreciate it.  Not much better than that!  (well, maybe if I could get paid for it, but you never know!)

I’m a runner.  What does that have to do with helping people?  I joined a running group a couple years ago and have been blessed to be chosen as a leader of that group.  I run with people, get to know them, support them in their goals, push them to achieve things they didn’t think they could do.  Running with someone for every step of their first 10 miler is a pretty amazing feeling, I must say!  I absolutely LOVE helping my fellow runners accomplish things they didn’t think they could do!

So, it’s the second day of a super busy week.  I’m choosing to wake up with positive intentions.  I WILL help people today!  I will spend 8 hours at the office with wonderful friends and patients who appreciate us.  I will spend some time this evening at rehearsal for our Thanksgiving service.  I won’t get to run with my friends tonight (bummer) but I will see some of them on Thanksgiving anyway.

Yes, I’m running a Turkey Trot 8k on Thanksgiving.  After all, you have to earn your pie!!!!  What are your positive intentions today?  How will you help people???  I would love to know!

Leave a Reply

