Thankful Equals Happy

Have you ever tried to be happy, but it was just hard?  Try being thankful first.  Sounds crazy, but when you think about it, it makes sense!

For many years, I battled depression.  If you know me now, you might find it hard to believe, but my life looked a lot different growing up.  My teen years were really hard.  I was depressed, even suicidal at times.  I ate like crap.  I drank a lot of alcohol.  A lot of alcohol.  I was NOT happy.

Sure, on the outside I faked it.  I was really good at that.  I think a lot of kids put on a good front.  Anyone who battles depression can get really good at faking a smile, but if you look deep you will see it doesn’t quite reach their eyes.

I’m sure I’ll talk more about my battles in the future, but for today, the day before Thanksgiving, I just want to tell you how I stay happy pretty much every day now.  A happiness that shows in everything I do, say, eat, smile, just everything.

I’m thankful.  Thankful for everything I have.  For everyone in my life.

I said it before, my life isn’t perfect.  Far from it.  But I have way more to be thankful for than I deserve, and that makes me happy.

When I wake up in the morning, I choose to be happy.  Sometimes that’s an easy choice, sometimes I have to actually think about something awesome before I get there, but I CHOOSE happiness.  That starts with being thankful.

I’m thankful for the comfy bed I sleep in.  For the warmth of my home.  For the food in my pantry.  For the running water I use to brush my teeth.

Even those few things start me off on the right foot.

If you’re having trouble getting in the right mindset, try thankfulness first.

Once you count your blessings, it’s much more difficult to dwell on the things you don’t have.  How can you not be happy?  Life is freaking awesome!

Tell me how you choose to be thankful and happy today!

Leave a Reply

