Run Streak!

So, I’ve been a loyal subscriber to Runner’s World magazine for about 4-5 years now.  I became a runner later in life.  At the age of 38 I decided I had had enough of being fat and lazy and chose to start running.

What?

Yeah, that’s what all my friends and family said too.  But I was sick and tired of being sick and tired.  So I did the Couch to 5k program and in just 9 weeks I ran my first 5k.  I think I may have shared this story before, but it’s pretty amazing what you can do when you really set your mind to it!

So, that was in 2010.  My first run was on Mother’s Day, I remember it so clearly.  Since then I’ve run so many races I can’t even count them!

Early on in my running pursuit my son was doing a fundraiser for his school selling magazine subscriptions, so I signed up for Runner’s World, since I was now a runner.  I love it!  It’s so full of inspiration, great tips, workouts, recipes… it’s a great read every month.

I still love to run, even though typically I run just 2-3 days a week now and do home workouts 5-6 days a week with Beachbody programs.  I have to keep off the 50 pounds I’ve lost!!!

Well, last week I was reading this month’s issue of Runner’s World and there was a challenge I decided to run with (forgive the pun, I had to!).  It’s called a run streak.  I’ve heard of them, have plenty of friends who have done them, but had never done one myself.

The basic idea is that you run every day for a certain period of time, at least one mile every day, more when you can.  The challenge for this particular streak is a holiday one, every day from Thanksgiving to New Year’s day!  That’s right, 37 days, lace up the shoes and run each and every day.

I’m taking the plunge!  I had already signed up for the Turkey Trot 8k in my town for Thanksgiving morning anyway, so I figured I might as well keep it going!  It’s gotten a bit more complicated since then, but I think I have a plan and can get it done.

Sometimes you have to just put it out there and commit.  I have motivated several friends to join me on this!  I need that accountability because this could get tricky.  I’ll have to run some days right after work.  Some days will be super early BEFORE my other workouts!  That’s right, up even earlier?  Yeah… I’m still not a morning person. I just fake it well.

Have you ever done a run streak?  A streak of another kind?  I have a feeling in the next month I’m going to wish I had a treadmill at home.  It’s going to get cold/wet/winter very soon!  Heck, I think it’s only 28 degrees this morning!  That’s pretty chilly, even for Michigan!

But hold me to this.  I’ve made a commitment.  I can do it. #RWRunStreak day 5 in about 30 minutes!!!!

One thought on “Run Streak!

Leave a Reply

