You Are Worth It

I talk about this quite a bit, because it’s something that has taken me years to understand.

You are worth it!

You are worth the time it may take to be healthy, physically and mentally.

You are worth the effort it takes.  You are worth the money you may need to spend.  You are worth it!

Why do I say that so much, and what the heck does it mean?

Well,  you see I battled with depression a lot as a younger person.  I never thought I was worth much.  It wasn’t because I didn’t have love around me, my parents loved me, I had friends.  But I never believed I deserved love.

I know it’s not rational, but at the time, I didn’t believe it.  Not even after I married my husband and had my kids did I think I was really worthy of love and a future.  That’s the beast called depression, and it sucks.

When I decided that it was time to quiet that beast (and she still rears her head at times, but not with any regularity anymore, thankfully) and take control, it was a very long and difficult process.

I have discovered a lot about myself in the past couple of years, in fact this year alone I have really uncovered a lot of things that just make so much sense!  It’s making life a lot easier for me and for those around me.  I’ll never be done learning, but that’s a great thing!

I need time alone.  On a regular basis!  I need to spend time reading, learning and even writing for MYSELF, and I need it often.

I love people, I love helping, I love being someone that you can lean on, I love being around others and having fun.  But sometimes, in fact daily when possible, I need time by myself to collect my thoughts, make a plan, center myself.

I discovered earlier this year that although I’m really not shy, I’m an introvert.  There is a thing called an outgoing introvert, and that’s me!  It just explains me so much!  I recharge my batteries when I’m alone and quiet, but I love being around people too!

Taking the time to get to know myself has made me such a better friend, person, wife, mom.  It’s just making me better!  You are worth the time too!  Make sure you spend time every day figuring out what YOU need.  Not for selfish reasons, but to make yourself more useful to others.  To make yourself more healthy from the inside out.

I spend most of my days with a lot of different people.  I feed off that energy, but after a while I need to be alone to recharge.  That’s a good thing.  The more I learn about myself, the more I’m able to give to others.

And giving to others is my ultimate goal!

You are worth it!

Leave a Reply

