It’s A Choice

Did you know that being happy truly is a choice?  I’m talking about being happy instead of grumpy.  I know from personal experience that true depression isn’t quite that simple, but for most of us it really is.

And yet, that simple choice isn’t always that simple either, is it?  I think if we understood how to be happy there wouldn’t be so many grumpy people out there.  I figured this was the perfect time of year for this discussion as I’m about to head out today and spend a day shopping for my favorite people for Christmas!

Now you need to understand that I have spent many many years working in customer service industries.  Retail, food, even with the patients at the optometry office I work for now, it’s all about service.  I know how hard it is, but I also know that it’s a choice.

Being a consumer just like everyone else is also a choice.  But long lines, computers that aren’t working, people who may just be in training and aren’t sure how to apply that coupon… that’s when it’s up to us to make a choice.  All of us, on both sides of the conversation!

Today is going to be a great day.  You know how I know that?  Because I already made a choice, as soon as I woke up and opened my eyes, that I was going to enjoy it!  I don’t care what the weather does, who cuts me off on the highway, I’m choosing to be happy!  A few years ago that wouldn’t have been a possibility.  I would likely have ended up this evening needing to unwind with a bottle of adult beverage or screaming at my kids for something silly.  I haven’t yelled in a few years at my kids, and we are ALL happier for it!

Making a choice to be happy isn’t the same as letting people walk all over you, let me get that clear.  I will just not let little things get to me.  If the lines are long, I will strike up a conversation with the lady next to me, or I will hum along with the music playing in the store, or whatever!  If the cashier is having trouble or getting frustrated, I will offer a smile and tell them to take a deep breath.  Nothing is worth getting all upset over, it usually just makes things worse!

If holiday shopping stresses you out, try some simple tips to keep yourself and those around you in a happy place.

Put a smile on your face.

Breathe deeply as often as possible.

Don’t be in a rush, you’ll get there in one piece which is all that matters!

Talk to people, get off your phones and look into the eyes of that gentleman that opened the door and say thank you!

Wish people a Merry Christmas, or Happy Holidays, or whatever you are comfortable with.

Think of others before yourself.

If we all follow just a few quick tips, I would bet we could make this the best holiday season ever!  Choose happiness.  When you’re happy, you make those around you happy too.

Merry Christmas!

IMG_0034

Chicago Christmas

Leave a Reply

