Rainy Day, On A Monday?

OK, I know I’m probably the only one, but suddenly I’m singing that old tune by the 70’s band The Carpenters…. Rainy days and Mondays always get me down…. right?

Yeah, that happens to me a lot.  I swear I have a constant musical going on inside my head.  It’s like one little word can set off a stream of songs!  But it’s 5am and it’s happening already, I suppose I should take this as a good sign of things to come today, right?

But yes, it’s raining.  A lot.  It has been all night.  And it’s windy.  I have at least one mile to run.  I need to get it done before work to avoid the excuse machine.

Goody.

Not like I haven’t run in the rain, but to be honest, it’s not my favorite.

I know that once I get out and get it done I will feel awesome.  Hard core.  I will have accomplished something I didn’t think I could do.  This is day 26 of the streak.  If I skip it, that will mean I gave up.  For what?  A little extra water????  Yeah, I don’t think so.

It’s also about 40 degrees.  That’s pretty warm for a Michigan December.  That’s about double what I ran in yesterday.  What?  I swear Mother Nature is smoking some good stuff lately.

But I won’t complain anymore.  I’ll just get my run done.  I’ll put on my big girl pants and deal with it.  I’ll suck it up, head to work and do my best to forget that it’s one of the busiest days of the year.

I’ll keep smiling.  I’ll be riding that high I’ll get from my run around the block one more time.

Besides…. it’s just a few more days until Christmas!  My most favorite time of year!  It won’t be a white one this year, that’s pretty much a done deal, but that’s OK because that means it won’t be icy!  Good roads means less scary travel.  I can deal with that!

So, it’s rain.  Not my favorite, but not the worst thing I’ve run in.  The most difficult part will be deciding what to wear and getting out the door.

I got this.  I can do anything.  I am badass.  Decide.  Commit.  Succeed.

This is what will go through my head for about 10 minutes while I run.  One mile.  I won’t melt!

But, once this streak is done, it’s time to move on to the next amazing step in my health and fitness journey…. January 4.  Hammer & Chisel.  Dude.  Now that’s going to be badass!

Leave a Reply

