Merry Christmas!

I hope you all have a wonderful day filled with family, friends, love and laughs.  Christmas is truly my favorite time of year!  Not only because it means a day with my family, which I always treasure, but because of the spirit surrounding it.  I just can’t be depressed on Christmas!

When I was growing up, my parents split like so many families.  But thankfully, mine worked together to make sure Christmas was still so special no matter whose house we were at that year!  Most years we had two or even three Christmases!  Lucky girls we were for sure!  A few presents at a time, nothing overwhelming, but we were feeling the love.

I grew up and got married, had my boys and my sister got married and had her kids, all within a few years.  So, our traditions changed a little.  We would always get together somewhere and watch our kids tear into the wrapping paper, we would talk about and eat the leftover cookies we had made for Santa… it was just the most special time once again from a different perspective.

As our children are now teens and young adults, times are morphing yet again.  But, we still have Christmas together.  It’s one day I insist on family time, and even my boys will agree just to make me happy, even for a few hours.  They know this means a lot to me.  So, in a while, they will get up and I will have them open a couple of presents from their dad and me.  We will drive over to my sister’s which isn’t far away, and we will eat, open a couple more presents, laugh, watch TV, play games… whatever we feel like this year!  My heart is already full just thinking of them spending time with their grandma.  She loves this day as much as I do!

We haven’t always had enough money to make Christmas a time to really spoil the kids the way I would like.  But we’ve always found a way to make it something special.  Even this year, I didn’t spend a lot of money, but I think they will appreciate the thought behind the gifts.  It’s different, but still special as they mature and even ask for different things.  Heck, my 19-year-old son actually ASKED me for socks!  Huh???  Well, socks I can handle!  I had to laugh, he used to hate when he got socks for Christmas.

I used to bake lots of cookies and spend hours decorating them.  My kids could truly care less, so as I’m a much more health conscious person now, and even my husband is trying to lose weight, I’m not baking anymore.  But my sister is the queen of cookies and decorating cookies specifically!  She has made those Ninjabread cookies for the past few years and they are SO fun and yummy too!!!  I can’t wait to eat my share when we get there in a few hours.  Because it’s Christmas.  And cookies one day isn’t going to make me unhealthy.  I’m going to enjoy a couple of these as well…..

IMG_0223

and likely at least one of these…

IMG_0224

I told you she was talented!!!  Her kids even help, which I love!  So after I get my run in, I will certainly be enjoying a few cookies today.

There will be much more food than just cookies.  I think we could feed dozens, but there will be only 9 of us there this year.  We may not be a large family, but we are bound by love and I wouldn’t change it for the world.  I hope the kids will actually let us take a few pictures since their other grandparents are in Florida this year and won’t be able to see them!  I know they will love seeing a picture or two if I can make that happen!

Christmas is special to me, and I hope it’s a special day for you as well.  Do something nice for someone else.  Spend time with people you care about.  Eat a cookie!  Count your blessings.  There will be people missing from our celebration, like always.  I miss those people that I’ve lost in my life, but I don’t let it get me down.  I think of them and smile knowing they would be enjoying time with us if they could, but that they are having their own celebrations in heaven.  What must that be like???  But truly it doesn’t make me sad, not this time of year.

No, this day is for my family.  I love my family.  And I wish you all a very Merry Christmas.

God bless you all!!!

 

Leave a Reply

