What Are You Waiting For?

For so many years I was waiting for something.  I don’t even think I knew what it was I was waiting for, but I was waiting.

To be happy.  To be healthy.  To have my dream career.  I waited.

I waited until I truly thought my life was going to be over at a very young age.  For real!  My family has a tendency toward a short life expectancy, and I truly didn’t think I would live much longer.

So sad for someone in their 20’s, even 30’s.

One day, I was 38 years old at the time, I realized that in 10 years I would be the same age my Dad was when he had died.  I was overweight.  I was so out of shape.  I had trouble tying my shoes, and don’t get started on stair climbing!  I was on medication for high blood pressure.  I was pre-diabetic.  I was putting myself in an early grave, and I knew it.  But I didn’t know how to stop!

So I was done waiting.  I made a decision to change.  Just like that!  Complete mindset shift in like a day.  I wanted to live, and not just to a certain age, I wanted to be able to enjoy my life!  I wanted to be active and fit and be able to play with my grandkids, should I be blessed with them someday far off in the future!

I started running.  It was SO hard!  But I made myself a goal, told others to hold myself accountable, and pushed myself.  I won’t lie, it wasn’t easy but I never gave  up and I ended up falling in love with running!  I had no idea what I was getting myself into, but it was truly the best decision I ever made!

Fast forward a couple of years.  I lost weight.  A lot of weight.  I got really fit!  At 40 I ran a full marathon!  I’m off all medications (except for my allergies, darn sinuses!) and have the heart of an athlete.  My doctor is thrilled for me, and I’m beyond enjoying my life, my new adventures, my abounding energy, and my future.  I will be that fun grandma… someday, my kids are still too young!

I’ll be 44 this spring.  I now believe that my life isn’t even half over!  For someone who never saw themselves turning 50, that’s a pretty big shift.

It’s because I didn’t wait!  I stopped waiting, took on a challenge and literally ran for my life!

Of course over the years I’ve learned a lot, I’ve joined a team of people who are passionate about health and fitness, and I’ve become a coach to help others reach their goals.  And that’s the other mindset shift I’ve recently had.

2016 will be all about helping others reach their goals for me.  I’m dedicating this year to helping, both in my coaching and with my running group, whether it’s with fitness or nutrition or just being a happier, healthier person!

Why?  Because I was starting to feel myself become fairly selfish about my goals.  Sure, I’ll still work on my fitness and being as healthy as I can, but that push, that drive behind what I do is all about helping my friends reach their goals.

Whether it’s about losing weight, running a race, building muscle, I want to help you get there!  I’m done waiting!  I know it’s time you stop waiting too!

No more excuses, life will always be complicated.  You’ll always be busy.  You’ll never have the life you want until you work for it!  Push yourself outside your comfort zone and go for it!

If I can make a transformation like this, surely you can do it too!!!!  If your goals aren’t physical, what are they?  Do you even know?  Write them down!  The possibilities are endless!  What are you waiting for?

IMG_4479

2 thoughts on “What Are You Waiting For?

Leave a Reply

