Why Wait?

Do you have a bucket list?  I’ve honestly never actually sat down and wrote out all the things I want to do before I die, but I have a list in my head.

I think it’s time to write it down.  I know exactly how hard it’s getting to remember things as I’m hitting this thing called “middle age”.

Every day lately I have been looking back at things I’ve posted on Facebook in the past few years.  I love that “see your memories” feature!  It’s weird, but I like seeing where I was a year, two years, six years ago!

Looking back can be fun and enlightening, but it also reminds me that I haven’t done what I thought I would back then.  That makes me a little sad!  What the heck am I waiting for?

There are things I’ve been wanting to do for a very long time, but I’ve never made it a priority.  Never put it on my calendar.  It’s time to start making my list a priority.  I’m starting that today with a little push from my husband!

I don’t know how you feel about it, and I actually really don’t care, but today, in about 2 hours I’m getting my first tattoo!  I’ve wanted to do this for close to 20 years, and I’ve always wimped out or said I wasn’t ready, or didn’t have the money… but not this time!

For Christmas last month, my husband decided to get me a gift certificate to a tattoo shop that his friends really love.  He researched it and made sure it was a clean and professional place and went for it!  He wasn’t sure how I would react, and to be honest, I was totally shocked!  Then I got really excited!  Then I made the appointment… and it’s today!

So I’m sure I’ll share pictures soon, but I wanted to remind everyone that that thing you want to do… DO IT!  Don’t wait!  You just never know how much time you have, so make yourself happy!

Six years ago this week my friends and I lost a dear friend and sister to cancer.  Since that time we have committed to each other that in Laura’s memory we would continue to get together as often as possible.  We had sat at her funeral realizing some of us hadn’t seen each other in 15 years, and that was just unacceptable!  Thankfully we are getting together again very soon and will share a toast to our dear sister in heaven!  She’s been joined by other angels since then, so we will actually toast them all.

Stop waiting for whatever it is you want to do and just do it!  Life is too short to put it off!  Let’s write out those bucket lists and start knocking them off one by one!  Sure, you have a lifetime to get them done, but why wait?  Make it happen!

Leave a Reply

