Rest

Rest days can be tough when you’re pretty much addicted to working out.  I used to think rest days were for wimps.  NOT ANYMORE!

Depending on where you are in your fitness and what you’re trying to do with your body, we all need a rest day now and then.  Some people only workout 3 days a week.  That’s fine if you’re just trying to stay the same, not make any changes.  If that’s your goal, that’s awesome!

For those of us trying to be fit and a little more badass, we tend to workout 5-6 days a week.  Some people go 7, but I truly believe that at least 1-2 of those days should be about recovery and mobility.  Going for a nice walk on a rest day is fine, some light stretching, but don’t go climb a mountain!

When we workout, lifting weights or hard cardio, we are actually breaking down muscle fibers.  These tiny tears need rest to recover and ultimately make us stronger.  When we don’t allow for rest, our muscles never reach their full potential, making our workouts less effective and results come more slowly, if at all.

Just what I needed to hear when I was all about skipping rest days.  Rest days make our muscles stronger!  Ok, I’ll do rest day.  I got this.

I don’t want all my hard work to be in vain, after all!  That’s just silly!  I want to be smart and have my workouts be effective, so I rest.

Today, like most of my rest days, I still have things to do.  I can’t lay around in bed all day!  But it will be limited to errands, a little shopping, and even a massage and adjustment at my chiropractor.  I could do a post just on how much I believe in good chiropractic care!  It’s essential for me.  I go every couple weeks!

So, if you’ve been working hard this week, you need to pick a day to rest.  Hammer & Chisel has it’s rest day on Thursday, but I don’t care which day you choose as long as you do yourself a solid and TAKE a rest day!

Eat well.  Love yourself.  Work hard, and REST!

Leave a Reply

