So, What’s The Deal?

Why haven’t I written a post in almost a week?  Well, I’ll share my little story with you, but it’s not that exciting.

Last weekend was super busy and really fun.  I got to see some old friends that I completely adore and spend time just laughing and sharing.  I got to run some miles with my running friends.  I got to do a marathon relay, the first one I’ve ever done!

And then I got sick.

I have recurring pleurisy.  If you don’t know what pleurisy is, it’s when the lining around your lungs (the pleura) is inflamed and rubs against your ribcage.  And it’s amazingly painful.  It’s hard to get a breath.  It feels like a vice or an elephant on your chest.  Being in a state of pain is exhausting, especially for someone who hates being in pain.

I can take pain.  I’m a runner.  I’m a mom.  I’m a woman who just sat through getting that tattoo pictured above on my foot.  I can handle a lot.  But this crap knocks me on my ass when it hits, and it hit badly this week.

So I’ve been hibernating.  Trying to rest as much as possible.  I haven’t worked out in four days and I’m getting cranky.  But I’m finally able to take a deep breath without a sharp pain, so I’d say I’m seeing progress.

I wanted to write this today to check in, but also to tell you that even though I’ve had this going on and have been completely off my game for most of the week, I’m not giving up.  I’m sticking with my meal plan.  I’m still doing my best to help people every day.

I may be down, but I’m not out of the game!  I’ll never give up!  All I have to do now when I’m having a craptastic day is to look at my foot.  Never give up.  Those three words mean so much to me, and they have kept me going this week in a big way!

So, that’s my deal.  This is something that happens and I just have to deal with it.  I’ll be fine.  I’ll be back better than ever very soon!  I’m just glad to have today off work.  I slept IN!!!  It was awesome!  I think I’ll go take in a movie by myself soon.  It’s a good way to get out of the house for a while and lose myself in someone else’s story so I don’t dwell on my no-so-amazing week.

I hope you never give up.  I promise I won’t either.  Do what you can today, and do more tomorrow.

2 thoughts on “So, What’s The Deal?

Leave a Reply

