Be The Change

My team is focusing 2016 on the theme “be the change”.  To be the change in our own lives, and to enable change in those around us.  Change isn’t easy, but it’s necessary when you want to grow, especially when you have dreams like I do of helping people.

Yesterday was sort of an emotional day for me and my college friends.  We lost another classmate.  He wasn’t the first, he won’t be the last, but hearing this awakened a fire within me that is igniting a change in my own life.

That change is in regards to my helping others.

It’s too late for me to help this friend.  I didn’t reach out to him and I’m angry with myself over it.  I don’t know if I could have helped him or not, but I could have tried.  I failed to try.  Now I have to live with that.

Now I have to remember that not everyone will be reached.  But for those that I can, I will try.  I won’t let my sadness over my friend overwhelm my sense of urgency for helping those that are still here.  That is my mission.

My passion is health.  Fitness is a part of it, but I could care less if you have six-pack-abs or huge muscles, I want everyone to be healthy.  Inside and out!  Happy, healthy, fulfilled.  Myself included, that should be the goal.

I’ve lost plenty of people in my life, and for some reason this loss is resonating with me in a different way.  He will never know it, but he just might be the catalyst of change in hundreds or thousands…. who knows?

One thing is for sure, I am glad to have known him.  I continue to pray for his family and friends.  I will help those I can.  I will never give up.

Leave a Reply

