Do You Respect YOU?

I never thought of eating well as a form of self-respect until I committed to a healthy lifestyle.  Truly, I had such low self-esteem and didn’t respect myself or my body much at all before my change, so I’m not surprised I didn’t connect this.

It took a major reality check again recently to realize it all over again.  It’s smacking me in the face as I write this and I just need everyone to realize it, it’s not too late to change your habits.  But it won’t necessarily be easy.

I grew up with amazingly bad habits when it comes to food.  Fast food, processed foods, sugar, pop (as we call it in Michigan)… it was all I ate for the majority of my life.  It’s truly not a wonder that I was unhealthy and overweight.  It’s amazing that I ended up breaking some of those habits!

But old habits die hard.  That is a very real truth for me.

The holidays are long behind us, but my body is still feeling the results of me letting my nutrition slip.  I’m still up on the scale and feel fluffy around the middle.  My clothes aren’t as comfortable.  So I had to look at myself in the mirror and realize I’m not respecting my goals.

Wow.  Attitude shift!

Yesterday was a very long and busy day, but I did something that made me proud.  I planned out all my meals and snacks, made concessions for grabbing a drive thru veggie burger on the way to my hair appointment after work, and planned a fairly healthy day, all things considered.

Was it perfect?  No.  But I also didn’t chow down on the chocolate that is all over the office. I didn’t come home full of grease and regret.  I made a plan and I stuck to it.  I made myself proud.

It takes a lot of practice to get this down, and for me I have to keep recommitting to it over and over, daily, weekly… it never seems to end.

I want to be one of those people who just seem to eat and workout and are super healthy and don’t seem to ever have to avoid temptations or have an easy time doing it.  But I’m not that person.  That’s my reality.

I’m sure I’m not alone, which is why I’m sharing this.  I’m a sugar addict.  I love carbs.  I will eat anything deep fried (except mushrooms, yuck!) or covered in salt.  That’s my reality, but it doesn’t have to be.

My lack of commitment to my nutrition the last couple months is showing loud and clear in my body.  I’m going to stop that.  Now.  It’s over.  I’m worth more than that!

I’m worth feeding well.  I’m worth the little bit of effort it will take to plan ahead.  I’m worth the extra thought I might take to make a choice before I pull something out of the fridge or order at the restaurant.

Most of all, we are all worthy of our respect.  Let’s eat well and prove it!

2 thoughts on “Do You Respect YOU?

Leave a Reply

