Why, Lord?

I wish I could understand our world sometimes.  For real, like I don’t get it.

I understand mental illness is a real thing.  I’ve seen it.  I’ve experienced it.  I know people sometimes snap.

But what I don’t understand is why people can sometimes feel that their only course of action should be to go around shooting random people.

I’ve lived in Michigan my entire life, and for 7 years I called the city of Kalamazoo my home.  I love it there.  The culture, the landscape, the people.  It’s still a place I consider a safe and happy place.

No big city is completely safe, of course, but in general I’ve always felt safe there.

This weekend someone shattered that sense of security for thousands.  Someone randomly, over the course of several hours, shot and killed 6 people and wounded 2 others.  Authorities are still trying to figure out why.  They did apprehend the suspect and the city will now have to recover from that man’s actions.

The scary part is, the next day there was another shooting.  Not as bad, but aren’t all shootings bad?  I mean, why?  I just don’t get it.

I’m not a gun owner, I really don’t feel the need to have one.  But I’m also not anti-gun.  When used properly and with respect, I don’t see a problem with guns, it’s the people that have them that worries me.

I respect the rights of gun owners, as many in my family do, and I don’t want to debate that, but I just had to get off my chest this question of why.  Why is there such desperation out there?  Why the need for violence?

I guess maybe I’m a pacifist to an extent.  I mean, mess with my family and I will fight back, but I don’t see the need to attack others, either verbally or physically.  Let’s just get along!  Help each other!  But I realize also that I’m naive about the world in a lot of ways.  I see the good in people.  I want to see the good in everyone.

Bullies are just scared little kids, in my opinion.  Mentally ill people need treatment.

I hear people on all the social media saying this guy should fry and be locked up for life, and while I don’t dispute the fact that he needs to pay for his crime, what’s the real crime?  What’s the real story?  Why?

Is he suffering from a mental illness?  What made him so desperate to want to hurt so many people?  I just don’t get it.

I believe if we all try to find good in each other, if we all go out of our way just that inch to help another person, maybe we can find a way to stop some of these shootings.  In the first 52 days of 2016, I heard there were 42 mass shootings.  That is completely nuts!

Reach out to someone.  Touch a life.  Help someone.  Smile at someone.  Be a friend.  Call that old buddy you haven’t seen in a bunch of years.  Maybe if we all did that, and everyone was reached, it wouldn’t be too late to help stop another act of violence.

I ask why, but I also ask…. how can we help stop the madness?

Leave a Reply

