Happiness

You might notice a theme this week, and that wasn’t truly on purpose, but I think it’s important.

I’m talking about what I’m reading, because this stuff is GOLD!

If you’ve read some of my other posts, you’ll know that my life wasn’t always easy. I suffered for years with depression and suicidal thoughts.  I was overweight, unhappy, sick, and on a short road to an early death.

Then suddenly, it all changed.  Well, the change didn’t happen suddenly, but to others I bet that’s what it looked like.

I didn’t just wake up one morning and have confidence and a positive attitude, ready to run a marathon!  Heck no!  It was hard w

ork, daily, on my physical self, on my emotional self, and it continues today.

There is no quick fix, you see.  Absolutely NOT!  It takes a choice, for sure, but then it takes commitment.  And the thing is, happiness has to come before success.

And you can LEARN to make yourself more happy.  It takes a choice.  I know, I know… but your life sucks.  Yeah, well, suck it up.  Life isn’t perfect for ANYONE!  Heck, as I write this, there are bills to pay, there’s no milk in the fridge, and my kid got suspended from school this week.  But am I stressing out over those things?  NO!  Why is that?  Because I am happy.  I know that each of these things is NOT a big deal.  My life isn’t over because my kid made a bad choice.  Because my bank account is on the tight side.  Because nobody told me there wasn’t any milk before I went to the store! (I don’t drink it, but the boys do.)

Here’s what I learned this morning during my reading of The Slight Edge.  There are five things that, if you commit to doing even one daily until it’s etched in your DNA, will make you happier.

  1. Every morning, write down three new things you’re grateful for.
  2. Journal for two minutes a day about a positive experience from the past 24 hours.
  3. Meditate daily for a few minutes.
  4. At the start of every day, write an email to someone praising or thanking them.
  5. Get fifteen minutes of simple cardio exercise a day.

This list is a quote from the book, I highly recommend getting a copy and reading the whole thing, but pick one of these and do it every day for a few weeks.  Tell me if you don’t feel happier!

Since I already do number 5, I’m going to add in the other four, one at a time, until I have them all ingrained into my schedule.  I’m starting with number 4.  I’ll message or email someone EVERY day, first thing in the morning (before I leave for work) and tell them something uplifting.

Wonder who the first person should be????  It will make ME happy to make someone ELSE happy.  I know this, because that’s just about the best feeling ever.

Leave a Reply

