Why? Why NOT?

I was thinking about what to write about today while I was running yesterday.  The only thing I could come up with was why, or why not.

The reason is because with all I’ve been going through this winter, I could and maybe should have stopped running.  It’s likely that I shouldn’t have run a half marathon this past weekend.

But then I thought, why not?

I had committed to the race, I’ve run 10 of them before, I knew I COULD do it.  But why?

I did it because I wanted to prove to myself that I was strong.  That I was capable of conquering a setback.  That I don’t let anything stop me from meeting my goals.

I also thought, why not?  What did I have to lose?

I certainly wasn’t going to win any speed records, and I was fine with that.  So why not run?  I mean, it was an absolutely BEAUTIFUL day.  Sunny and in the 70’s by the time we were done.

I ended up running the whole thing with my beautiful friend Rachel.  I think she was running slow just for me, which I appreciated, but we ran the whole thing together!  We allowed ourselves to walk through the water stops, because it was warm and we needed the hydration, but also just to rest just for a moment.

But the rest, we ran.

I think the race taught me something new.  Strange, since I’ve done this before, but I love to learn so it’s cool.

It taught me that as strong as I am, and as many excuses as I could have used to NOT run, I was smart enough not to listen to them.

I learned that sometimes it’s OK to simply be happy with the process instead of the end result.

My chip time for this race was the SLOWEST I’ve ever done a half marathon.  And I was actually HAPPY about that!

Slowing down and enjoying the ride is OK.  Being present in the process is a good thing.

If I can keep going, I believe that anyone can as well.  No, I’m not saying you should go out and run a half marathon, but whatever goal you’re reaching for…. go for it!  Why NOT?  You are worth the effort!!!!

Sounds simple, but do you know how many times people give up on their dreams?  More often than we would like to think about!  Don’t let that be you!

Find what you’re passionate about and go for it!  Why not?  And yes, I’m saying this to myself as well.

Working to be the best I can be… because I’m worth it.  I’ll never give up!

Leave a Reply

