Make Yourself Proud

I have a lot of bad habits.  I think we all do.  Slowly I’m trying to change that!

Yesterday I called my mom.  Yes, that’s a big deal, because talking to her on a regular basis isn’t something I do well.  No reason other than it’s not a habit to call her.  We are just not good about it, either of us, so she figured I had some big news.  I didn’t.  I just called to see how she was.  Kind of shocked her a little, but it was a nice chat.

I’m slowly recovering from this vitamin deficiency crud, but it’s certainly taking more time than I would like.

I went out and tried to take a walk yesterday.  It was chillier than I thought it would be!  But I did get a little bit of sunshine.  That made me feel good.

I am running races the next two weekends.  My mom doesn’t get it, why I run.  I know that she probably never will because she’s never done it.  She’s proud of me, sure, but that’s not why I do it.  I do it for me.

Getting out and running these races, even when I’m not 100% and won’t be at my best, just means that I am stronger than my excuses.  That I can conquer anything.  It makes me proud just to say I finished!

Even my chiropractor that I saw yesterday doesn’t get why anyone would voluntarily run for 2-3 hours!  She cracks me up!  But yeah, I get it.  I never saw the appeal…. until I did it.

There’s just something about crossing that finish line!  I’ve done it so many times, but I’m proud of each and every one of those finishes!  Whether I PR or not, it doesn’t matter because each race, each run, has it’s challenges.  Each finish is unique!

Tomorrow my group is running the Tulip Time races.  There is a 5k, followed by a 10k.  Since we need the mileage to stay on track for next weekend’s big race, we will run them both.

Yes, you read that right.  We will run a 5k, wait a short time and then run a 10k.  It’s just a little over 9 miles total, and it’s the perfect taper run for our 25k next weekend.

I won’t run tomorrow’s races to win them, just to get the miles in.  I will find a friend or two (or more) to chat with and hopefully enjoy some sunshine!  It’s the beginning our our Tulip Time festival, so the flowers are in full bloom and if the weather cooperates it will be an amazing morning!

What’s something you want to do, that is completely within the realm of possibility, but you might be putting off for some reason?  I put off calling my mom all the time, and I shouldn’t.  She’s pretty awesome!

I put off getting in shape for a very long time, and that was a mistake I hope nobody else makes!

I also put off believing in myself for way too long.  That stops now.  Well, it stopped a couple years ago, but you get the idea.

I’m making myself proud from now on.  Even when people think I’m crazy.  Super proud.

Leave a Reply

