Opening up

So the other day I talked about why I write this blog and about some changes that are coming.  Here’s a little more background on that.

See, being a health and wellness coach like I am comes with a lot of learning.  I hadn’t been focusing on learning much the last 20 or so years, what with raising kids and all, but the last two years something has come alive in me.

I’ve re-ignited my LOVE of learning.

Yes, it’s true.  I’ve always loved to read and learn, and about 18 years ago I was going to try and go back to school and then discovered I was pregnant with number two, so I didn’t see how that would work.  I got involved in my current career as I needed a job that would bring home at least enough to help with our household bills and never really found a way out of it.  I don’t mind what I do, but I don’t have a passion for it and there’s no real room for growth… so I’ve stagnated.

And it’s stifling.

Enter my coaching career and our requirement to dive into personal development.

Hallelujah!

Over the past two years I have really taken this seriously and have read just a plethora of amazing books by outstanding authors.  I’ve tried to apply as much as I can to my life and it’s been eye opening to see just how many years I’ve wasted by not doing this sooner… but I can’t worry about that now.  I’ll just never put learning on the back burner again!

One author I’ve recently fallen in love with is Dr. Brene Brown.  She’s a social worker and shame researcher.  She talks a lot about shame and as you can imagine, some of what she says makes you a bit uncomfortable… but she’s so real and true!

The quote I posted above is what I wanted to talk about today and in the coming weeks.

It’s time to stop living in shame.

I’ve been secret, silent and in judgment of myself for far too long.

There are things I need to write about that are going to be uncomfortable.  For me, but possibly for my readers and I have to say, that worries me the most.

I write this blog for me, but I want to help people… I always have.  Some of the things that have happened in my life fill me with shame and I try to hide them… I actually have gotten really good at hiding.  I think most of us have.

So my hope is that in writing about these shame inducing experiences I can help others realize that they are not alone… and that they are OK!  For real, we all have demons, don’t we?  Let’s stop judging each other and ourselves and face up to the fact that life is messy!

Anyway, that’s my hope for the future of this blog and of my life.  I’m sick of hiding in shame about stuff.  I have a feeling once I start sharing you’ll either love it or leave me… and I have to be alright with both of those actions.

For now, I’ll just leave you with one thought…. life is messy.  Hiding behind a wall of “perfection” isn’t helping ANYONE life a more authentic life, not you or your friends and family.  Being real means being open to ridicule…. and I’m ready to deal with that aftermath of that… finally.

Leave a Reply

