Weekend Directive…

This is for me as much as for you.  Believe me!!!

Backstory:  last summer (2015) I was in the BEST shape of my life!  I was lean, strong and happy in my skin.  A year ago I started to feel more run down but didn’t really think anything of it.  I had been splurging a bit with beer and ice cream and therefore had put on a few pounds, nothing major, so I just blew it off.  Then in March I was REALLY feeling like crap, and in April I wound up calling the doctor because something was wrong.  A blood test confirmed a very severe vitamin D deficiency… I was sicker than I thought!

I told you that because between June 2015 and April 2016, I gained 20 pounds.  That might not be a big deal to some people, but I’m only 5’2″ and I’m a runner and a fitness coach!!!  It felt horrible that I had let myself gain that much in less than a year!

The worst part was that NOTHING fit me.  I was so uncomfortable.  Running was awful.  I felt like a failure.

Getting on the medication and allowing myself to rest and recover wasn’t easy, but I gave myself time.  Time to heal my body, but also to heal my head, because it was really bothering me and I knew I needed to re-focus on nutrition… big time.

I’m NOT perfect.  I love sweets and beer and stuff I shouldn’t have.  Believe me, I will not be perfect EVER!  BUT, with that said… I’m doing so much better, and I don’t want to blow my progress!

I weighed myself this morning and I’m almost down 10 pounds again!  That’s right… half way back to my happy place!  I don’t put too much stock in the scale, but I do use it as a tool to see if I’m making progress or not.  Slowly but surely, I’m getting there.

The biggest thing is, I feel better.  Not just because my medication is working, but also because the last couple of weeks I have been experimenting with gluten/dairy free… and I have a pretty clear picture now that a gluten free life will serve me very well.  I miss cheese, but that’s another story!!!

So tomorrow I’m headed with my sister to see my niece for the first time since she started college a couple weeks ago.  I’m SO excited to see her, to feel the energy of the college campus once again… it’s been a LONG time!  We are also going to the football game, which is going to be a blast!  But my goal to have a good time isn’t an excuse to ruin my progress!

I don’t plan to LOSE weight over a weekend… but I want to maintain what I’ve already lost.

It’s not that difficult, and then it is… depending on the situation.  Only you can control what goes in your pie hole… I’m going to make sure it’s not pie.

Leave a Reply

