Stop Listening

Everyone has voices in their head.  Right?  I mean, I hope so!  I’ve had them as long as I can remember.

Sometimes they stop me from doing or saying things that would get me in trouble, but sometimes they cause me more trouble than they should.

I found this quote/picture a while ago and it still resonates with me.  Every day I fight the voices in my head.  Some days I feel like they don’t like me very much.

Some days they tell me I’m fat, lazy, an awful person.

Some days they tell me everything is going to be OK.

You know what?  It’s time to shut up the negative voices.  Close that door in front of them and not let them wander around inside my head.  They are not welcome!

The positive ones?  They can stick around.  I’ll try to let their little lights shine so I can sparkle like the unicorn I am and embrace the good things in life!

I’ve talked about the fact that for the past couple of years I’ve really worked on personal development… reading or listening to things that make me a better person for at least a few minutes a day.  I believe this is helping me go through a process that will make my life happier.  Isn’t that what it’s all about?

I am trying to stop comparing myself to everyone around me.  With the world a whole lot smaller thanks to the internet, it’s very easy to get caught up in what everyone else is doing, comparing your life to the snapshot you get of other people’s lives.  When someone is showing you the highlights, it’s easy to think you aren’t as good as them or wish you had something they have…. but that has to stop.

I love to follow successful people on Facebook.  I’ve done this for a while, but I’ve found myself thinking… what do they have that I don’t?  The fact is, I have no idea!  And it’s OK!  My life isn’t perfect, their life isn’t perfect… they just may not show the messy stuff on their newsfeed.  It is, after all, just a tool.  That’s one reason I started this blog.

My life is so far from perfect… but there is beauty in every day.  It may not seem like it, but there is.

I have people close to me who love me for me.  They love my quirky sense of humor.  They love my passion for football, great movies, daily exercise… they think I’m a little nuts, and that’s just fine with me!

I also have people around me who probably just think I’m crazy… and I love those people because they keep it real.  If they are negative, I don’t pay attention.  I have no time in my life for negativity.  It just doesn’t fit.  Life is too short to be bothered with the crap some people want to share.

You may not be able to distance yourself from the voices in your head, but you certainly can quiet them, change them, and start listening to the positive ones.

Life is too short to dwell on the negative voices.  Time to tell them to shut the hell up!

Leave a Reply

