Fake It Till You Make It

I’ve had to fake it a lot lately… but it’s helping.

I’m not faking who I am or what I’m going through, but there are times in your day that it’s just not easy to get through and I truly believe that being happy in whatever moment you find yourself can be a major form of courage.

I work in a service based industry.  I can’t and won’t go through my story 20 times a day because frankly I don’t want to, it’s exhausting, and not everybody needs to know the gory details of my life.  My job is to make them see better, feel better, and move on with their day in a timely manner with a smile on my face.

The smile may be fake at times, but at least I’m trying.

Being sick this week has taken a bit of the wind out of my sails, and I’ve had too much time to think about the kid and other depressing things.  That’s never good for me.  So today I plan to get to work, plaster a smile on my face, and be as happy as I can be.

There is nothing wrong with being sad, or depressed, or having crap in your head.  It’s a part of life for most people.  Putting on a happy face and faking it has been a part of my routine since I was a kid.  The hard part is having connections strong enough to be open about what’s going on for real so you don’t drive yourself mad.

I wasn’t planning on getting very deep with this post, so forgive me if I’m touching on something here… it wasn’t my intention.  I just need to find some courage to put on my happy face today.

It won’t be easy.  It might be a little bit fake, but I’m going to try.

I’m also going to move my body this morning.  I haven’t done much of that for the last five days and I HAVE to this morning for two important reasons.

  1. My brain and body need to feel some endorphins and some deep breathing, now that I can breathe without a major coughing fit.
  2. My Health Bet challenge is still going on and I NEED three workouts this week to get my split of the jackpot!

Yes, I realize that the second reason is pretty selfish, but darn it!  I’ve done SO well this month and all I need are three workouts… today, tomorrow and Sunday and I’ll have it!  I think it really goes until Tuesday, but if I don’t get these three days in I will be out, and that can’t happen!

So, I’m mustering up some courage in the form of a happy face today.  I hope yours comes more naturally than mine.

Leave a Reply

