Best. Advice. Ever.

Be yourself.

I love to learn, I’ve talked about that before.  Reading things that make me better, stronger, smarter, it’s something I try to do every day.  It’s kind of amazing how just a few minutes a day add up to something pretty awesome.  I wish I would have started doing it years ago!

But, alas, it took me a whole lot of years before I invested that much effort in myself.  Now that I have, I don’t plan to stop.  It’s awesome and I feel more like myself than I ever have!

I think one of the things I’m learning and working on right now is just being the best me I can be.  Learning how to be kind to myself, love myself for who I am… it’s not easy work, but it’s benefiting me already and I’ve only just begun!

We all have flaws.  If this is news to you, you have some major work to do and I’ll start a suggested reading list!  Being the real you and embracing all of who you are is not easy work.  I think most of us grow up thinking we have to be perfect or at least put off an air of something not completely authentic.  I’m learning about myself that throwing off that mask is HARD work but about the best thing I can do for me and for those around me.

I was asked twice yesterday how things were with my family.  It took all I could do not to burst into tears.  The people who asked me were genuinely wondering how things were, they weren’t trying to make me sad, but I had to be honest and just say things kind of suck right now (with one kid, the other one is doing well).  It wasn’t easy to be so honest with them because it meant I had to be honest with myself.

But being honest meant I didn’t have to hide.  I showed my imperfections and it was about the most freeing thing I’ve felt recently!  I have no reason to be ashamed,  I know this in my head, but tell my heart to stop beating me up, OK????  Getting emotional isn’t new, I’ve always been a crier.  I wasn’t crying yesterday, but part of me wanted to.  I’m not ashamed of that…  it means I care.

Feeling my honest feelings about whatever situation I’m in.  That’s what I’m working on.  Being authentically me.  Embracing my imperfections and all my quirks.  I truly believe it’s possible to be both vulnerable and strong at the same time.  I believe that there can be an aspect of your life that is falling apart and others that are quite empowering.  I actually take great comfort in that.

Be you.  Real, imperfect, flawed, quirky, weird, beautiful, magical…. be you.

You are pretty damn awesome.

Leave a Reply

