Creativity

The chapter of the book I read this morning was exactly about this topic.  I had a couple of thoughts, so I figured I could write them here!

When someone asks me about crafty things, I always say that’s just not me.  I’m not a crafty person.  It’s true!  I can’t paint a picture, I’m not good at drawing, but that’s not to say I’m not creative.

I have been a musician my whole life.  Now, I don’t do this professionally, it’s not how I make my money at this time, but I’m still a musician.  I’ve even written a couple of songs, although I don’t go around writing songs all the time, but I’m thinking I may have to start that.  Music is creative.  It’s not a craft, but it’s something I cherish.

My mother is a painter.  She’s a jewelry maker.  These are talents that she has head and shoulders above anyone else in our family, and that makes her amazing in my eyes.  Well, she’s also just kind of awesome, but she’s my mom and I love her.  I wear some of her jewelry on a regular basis… it’s just really cool!

My sister is about the most creative of all of us, which you may think is weird since she’s a math and science teacher by day.  But honestly, she’s a very talented knitter, scrap-booker, and basically anything she comes up with looks amazing.  She wouldn’t admit that, but I know how creative she is and it’s awesome.

So when I compare myself to these two amazing women, I don’t consider myself very talented.  But when you really look at it, I just have different talents than they do, not better or worse, just different.  Figures.  I always have to be different!

I sing, I play a few instruments, and I write.  I absolutely LOVE art, color, sculptures, texture, fashion…. all of it intrigues me.  I just feel like I enjoy other people’s art, not my own, and that’s OK.  I’ll stick with music!

When Dr. Brown spoke about her own creativity journey in this chapter, it made me realize that not only do I have a very creative mind, I also use it every day!  Writing this blog is creative and I’ve called it my therapy.  It’s certainly helped me stay focused and get out some of the things I feel like I need to talk about, so thanks for reading it!

I’ve been looking for my joy the past couple of days, and yesterday was tougher for me.  I have to say, finding joy when you just want to cry isn’t as easy as I thought it would be.  But I won’t give up.  I will find joy today.  Hoping to find ten specific things, but as many as I can will work too.  I think creating is going to be on my list.  Realizing that I’m more creative than I thought has already made me smile!

Create!  Find joy!  Let that soul shine!

Leave a Reply

