Taking My Own Advice

I need to get so much better at taking my own advice.

Since I became a coach I’ve done so much work on myself and my mindset and it’s awesome!  I wouldn’t go back, that’s for sure.  I’m optimistic and positive most of the time, even when things are tough.

But there are still so many things I want to do and so much I want to learn.  What am I waiting for?  I have no idea… so it’s time to push aside any doubts and just go for it.  I’ve said this before, but for some reason it’s resonating with me this week.

This summer I took a very part time job helping out at events for my chiropractic office.  I’ve been a patient for years and I truly believe that regular chiropractic care helps you stay healthy and active and will continue it for life.  It helps me be able to run!  But this weekend that job came to a rather abrupt end.

Honestly I didn’t think it meant that much to me until it was taken away.  Apparently they need people with more time available.  Since I already work full time I can’t just drop everything to do events during the day.  Sorry, my first commitment is to the job I’ve had for 14 years!  So, it’s over.  Just like that.  Time to move on.  I’ll still be a patient though… I really do like the office.

So, that means I have time to work on some other things… and that’s a good thing!

One of the biggest things I want to work on is writing.  Learning more, working on my blog and even starting a book.  These are things that will satisfy not only curiosity, but also hopefully get me started on that next income stream that I truly need right now.  That little bit I was making this summer really helped my family!!!  Enough dwelling on what I don’t have…. right?

My husband and I have always worked.  Since we were kids, really, we were raised that you worked.  Our moms and dads worked and so did we.  From picking berries in the summers, I babysat, worked in fast food… so many different jobs.  The careers we currently have pay the bills, and hubby is really happy with his.  Mine is great too, but wasn’t what I envisioned for my life.  Like I said, I’ve been at my office for 14 years, I have no reason to leave it, but why not pursue my passion while I continue to help people there too?  There’s no reason I can’t do both!  I’m strong enough, that’s for sure!

Life is moving so fast.  It’s the end of October already… what the heck?  Wasn’t it April last weekend???  I think this every year, but this year instead of being sad about it, I just want to do something about it.  I want to make my dreams come true.  I want to make the kind of money I believe my family deserves us to have.  I want to move out of the house that was our five year plan… seventeen years ago!  Why wait?

Having courage to follow your dreams isn’t easy for me.  I’m not even sure exactly what it looks like, but I think I’ll know it when I get there.  Following me on this journey should definitely be interesting!!!!  Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

