My Own Happiness Project

I mentioned the other day that I’m reading a book called The Happiness Project. The chapter I am reading this morning focuses on how she changed her career and her fears about that and what ultimately made her do that.

You see, she was a lawyer and had just clerked for the Supreme Court when she needed to make a decision.  How does one come to realize that their career isn’t filling a need inside of themselves to be happy?  I’m no lawyer, but I do have a college degree in a field other than what I’m doing for a living.  I totally understand her dilemma.

What we do for a living, whether we like it or not, does affect our happiness.  Sure, we have to be able to pay the bills and support our families and have a schedule that accommodates these as well, but isn’t a love for the work important as well?  I think so!

No matter if you went to school for a particular job or not, what you do every day should make you happy.  When that doesn’t happen, maybe it’s time to push aside the fear of what other people think and just focus on how you can be happier.  As I write this I realize that taking that advice isn’t easy because if it were we would all be happy, and I don’t think we are.

I think if we were all happy the world would be a much different looking place.  Do what makes you happy.  Stop worrying about what other people think of it.  Being happy is important not only to your productivity, but to your health!

Leave a Reply

