Today Is The Day!

It’s Game 12.  It’s a home game.  The weather is going to be cold and likely rainy…. and I’ll be there!

That’s right, my beloved Broncos are going to play Toledo today and if they win, will be undefeated for the first time…. ever!

There’s still going to be more football for the Broncos, they will get a bowl game this year.  Last year they played and won the Bahama Bowl, but I have a feeling they will be on the mainland this year.  There’s talk of a trip to the Cotton Bowl, but we will have to wait and see.  I won’t be able to make it to that anyway, I’ll be watching on TV somewhere!

But all of that has to happen AFTER today.  This team has already made history.  This coach has already found his way into the record books and into the hearts of so many Broncos.  But today, we need to go 1-0 in the Toledo season.  Today we need to ROW THE BOAT!

I get asked about why I have tagged onto this mantra the coach introduced four years ago… I mean, Broncos have nothing to do with water, right?  Well, I know I posted that video last week where coach explained it.  I say, whatever works!

It’s a never give up mantra.  If you’ve read a few of my blogs, you know that’s mine as well.  He just takes it a step farther.  Truly, it’s not just about football.  I think Row the Boat has it’s place in all aspects of life if you want to use it.

The boat is the sacrifice… what are you willing to give up and work for, keep only the good things inside.

The oar is the work… how hard are you willing to work for your goals.

The compass is the direction you are going… you have to have a clear picture of where you want to go.

Put that all together and it really makes sense.  You can’t have lots of holes in your boat, people who bring you down, because if you do you will sink and never reach those goals.  Hard work speaks for itself.  But it’s not just about football, it’s about graduating, working for your career goals, losing weight… it works for anything!

Coach also talks a lot about being Elite.  Surrounding yourself with Elite people, whether they are coaches, teachers, fellow players. I think this also can work outside of the team in the form of co-workers, friends, leaders.  You want to surround yourself with people who make you better.  People who push you to be YOUR best.  Isn’t that something all 18-22 year old’s should learn?

Anyway… enough about that.  I just wanted to share why I’m so proud to have been a part of this season.  My first time getting season tickets and what a year it’s been!  You can be sure I’ll be getting them again next season!  Not a big price to pay for all this fun!

Today instead of a tailgate (we froze last week!) we are heading to a bar for a couple of hours before the game.  We will then layer up and try to stay somewhat warm!!!  They are hoping to sell out the stadium, which I don’t think is likely.  Since it’s Thanksgiving weekend a lot of the students are scattered to their homes.  And as of yesterday it looks like there are about 6000 tickets left in the end zones.  I say it doesn’t matter!  Let’s huddle up and cheer for the Brown and Gold!!!!!

Keep calm… and Go Broncos!

Leave a Reply

