Once Again…

I’m keeping with the theme I started yesterday…. be yourself.  Not sure why, but that’s resonating with me this week and I think it’s a good message any day!

It’s Friday… YAY!  Tonight is a big night for me that I’ve been looking forward to for a while.  My office Christmas party is this evening.  It’s always a fun time.  We all get along well and it’s fun to go out with our spouses and enjoy some good food and fellowship.  But that’s not the only reason tonight is going to be a big night.  It’s also the MAC Championship football game tonight, and my beloved Broncos are playing Ohio for the title!

This season has been epic, I’ve talked about that plenty, but tonight will help to determine just how many records will be broken and which bowl game they will be playing!  To say I’m jealous of my friends who will be at the game is an understatement… I’m absolutely GREEN with envy!  But, it’s OK, I don’t have vacation time to spare, it’s our busy time of year, and with the office party tonight I didn’t have the heart to cancel my RSVP. So, I’ll get updates during the party and right after it’s over hubby and I are walking over to the neighboring sports bar to get a seat and watch the rest on the big screen… hopefully the second half.

To say I’m stoked would be putting it mildly.

I realize that most people don’t get this excited over watching a game on TV, but that’s just one of the things that makes me me.  I’m a dork.  I actually like that about myself.  Can’t hide it, don’t want to!

Had the opportunity yesterday to spend a bit more time than usual with my older son.  He’s still living at home while he works to save money and stuff and I enjoy his company.  It’s strange being the parent of an adult already (he’s 20) but it’s also fun seeing what kind of man he’s becoming.  He has a lot more to learn, but he’s already changed so much it’s pretty awesome!

I think back about who I was when I was 20 and I realize how much I’ve evolved as well.  Haven’t we all?  I mean, who knows exactly who they are when they haven’t even lived on their own yet?  I know I was quirky then too, but embracing those quirks… that’s maturity if you ask me.

Tonight, instead of dressing up and getting fancy, I’m wearing jeans.  I want to be able to take off my cute sweater and put on my WMU hoodie and head off to the bar after our fancy dinner to cheer on my Broncos.  Not every girl can say that, but I can.

I’m a sports girl.  I’m a dork.  I’m a Bronco.  And I’m proud of that!!!

Leave a Reply

