Lessons From A Christmas Tree

I saw this on Facebook the other day and it really connected how I feel this season.  I have a lot to be thankful for and a lot of good things going on in my life, but there’s still some hard stuff too.  I just need to focus on the good today… so here’s what I’ve learned from my own little tree!

When I was a kid we always had a real tree.  We would go out to the Christmas tree farm and choose one, bring it home, string on the lights… it was quite a production.  I loved it, of course.  The lights, the tinsel… I loved it all!

When I got married we lived in a little trailer park, the trailer we bought was older and it was almost Christmas time when we moved in. I wanted a real tree, but my husband (always the voice of reason) said he wasn’t about to put a fire hazard in a death trap….. so we went with artificial.

At first I didn’t like it, because it didn’t smell right, didn’t look right.  But over the years I’ve become more allergic to real trees.  Helping my mom decorate yet was proving that to me.  So I’m accepting of my new pre-lit amazing little tree that takes just a few minutes to set up!

I love to come home from work and put on my lights.  I love how they sparkle and glow.  They bring me joy, even when things are hard.  I love that my little tree isn’t even perfect.  It’s artificial, but it’s pretty realistic!

When I saw this list I just knew I had to share it with you all.  I think it makes so much sense, at Christmas and all through the year!  I know I want to be like my tree….

  • Be a light in the darkness
  • We all fall over sometimes
  • You can never wear too much glitter
  • Bring joy to others
  • Sparkle and twinkle as often as possible
  • It’s okay to be a little tilted

Doesn’t that just fit not only our Christmas trees, but our lives????

I plan to sparkle today…. I hope you do too!

Leave a Reply

