2016 Needs to GO!

Seriously, this year has been the year the 80’s icons died…. and I don’t like it!

It’s been the year my son overdosed, left our home and decided he was an adult, a year early, and not in a good way.

This year has been awful for my health. I’m still working on that vitamin deficiency and hating the weight gain that has happened. Nothing feels right for me physically anymore.

I rang in this year with some of my dearest friends.  We had dinner and watched the first ball drop in Grand Haven, which is my favorite town.  We laughed and ate and drank in all the fun that a New Year’s Eve party should be!  I had high hopes for 2016.

But it wasn’t long after that things started to go downhill.

For me, it started when David Bowie died in January.  I wouldn’t say I was a huge Bowie fan, but how could you not recognize his genius?  As a musical person, I’m usually good at that, even if I’m not out buying all the albums of a particular artist.  Talent is talent… and he had talent along with vision that doesn’t come along all that often.

But this year took more than Bowie… it took other musicians like Prince and Merle Haggard and Leonard Cohen.  It took sports legends like Muhammed Ali and Gordie Howe and Arnold Palmer.

It took actors like Gene Wilder and Florence Henderson and Alan Thicke…. people we all grew up watching and loving and who taught us some of life’s lessons we were too dumb to get from our parents.

2016 took other people who might not have been even noticed at times, but that shaped this world we live in.  People like Janet Reno and Morley Safer.  I’m so sad that the actor who played my favorite villain on the show I’ve watched since I was 10 years old just passed… Joseph Mascolo was Stefano Dimera on Days of Our Lives for so many years…. I will miss his devilish grin and maniacal laugh.

This year will be remembered by me as one with a lot of challenges.  Not all of his has been bad, of course, but it was a tough year.

I think ending with the deaths of George Michael, Carrie Fisher and her mother Debbie Reynolds is just the extra kick in the ass nobody ever saw coming.

I’m ready to make some new memories.  I’m ready to see what 2017 has in store, because I’m not strong enough to take much more of 2016.

I’ll start the year with my husband home.  It’s the anniversary of our first date, after all, and we typically like to spend it together.  On the 2nd is the Cotton Bowl, so watching that with friends will be almost as good as being there, right?  Well, it will be to me.

In the meantime, I’m going to see a movie today with mom again.  I am so happy that she and I have started to do this together more often.  Something we both enjoy!

Let’s try to find a bit of joy these last three days of 2016.  Somehow, someway…. let’s leave on a high note!

Then on Saturday night we can tell 2016 to go suck it…. and bring on a fresh new start!

2017…. May the force be with us!!!!

Leave a Reply

