My Year…

I could even say OUR year!

The year we just came out of was a really rough one for a lot of my friends and family.  It was a great one for others, and that’s awesome!  But every year is a new opportunity to make it the best possible!

Why not start now?

No, you don’t wake up one day and instantly lose the weight, kick the sickness, have all the money in the bank…. it takes time and hard work to reach goals like that.

BUT, I figure, why the heck would you wait longer than you have to to get started?

I started off the year by running a 5k on New Year’s Day with some of my amazing running friends.  So good to see them and get out there on what was a beautiful sunny day!  Yes, it was cold, I live in Michigan after all… but it was actually quite pleasant!

There are a couple of my friends who are going to try and do a run streak this year, meaning they are committing to running at least one full mile every day for the year.  I have one friend who has been streaking for several years already, she hasn’t missed a day in well over a thousand days, if I remember correctly!  Last year I streaked for the holidays which was 37 days and I found it quite a challenge!

But with the way my life is going right now I’m not sure I want to put that kind of pressure on myself.  Not that I can’t do it, I just have so much other pressure I’ve already placed on myself that I have to let somethings go…. so no streak for me.

Instead of a streak, I’m going to try and hit a mileage goal.  I’m going to grab a new planner/notebook tomorrow and keep track of the MILES I run, not how many days.  I think I’ll start with a goal of 1000 miles for the year.

Yes, that seems like a LOT of running… and it is.  BUT, I think I can get close!  It just means I have to KEEP going and not give up on myself!  Using this as a main goal to get back in shape sounds just perfect to me!

With a goal that high, it’s time to keep lacing up those shoes and pushing myself to run as much and as often as I can.  So far, in three days, I’m at 7 miles.  I ran 3 on Sunday, 1 on Monday, and 3 on Tuesday!  I can DO this!!!

Having some running accountability partners is very helpful as is my Beachbody team online!  Our next Health Bet starts officially on Monday, so I’ve got that group helping to keep me on track as well.

This is going to be a great year.  It’s time to dust off those sh*tkickers and get started!!!!  Who’s with me?????

Leave a Reply

