So True…

I can’t be the only one who does this. I get up on the weekend or come home after work with all these intentions of doing some wonderful thing…. and then I sit.

And NOTHING gets done.

This is especially true for me in the winter when the temps are low, the skies are grey, and my motivation is literally non-existent.

Please tell me I’m not alone in this! The fact that I found this cartoon tells me that I’m not alone at all. At least one other person feels this way!

I’m also someone who needs a blanket when they relax. I’m usually cold, that is just how I’ve been most of my life. It’s better now than it has been, but if there’s a draft in the room, I’ll likely find it and catch a chill.

So curling up with a blanket and a book or the TV remote are usually where you can find me after working all day or at the end of the week. Not a very good picture to portray, but it’s the truth!

I’m working to change this, at least slowly. By reading books that are inspiring me to make a few changes I’m hoping to catch that motivation to get things done.

At least 1-2 days a week I go for a run after work. Those days I have even less motivation, I just know that if I don’t run I will melt into a big puddle of goo and never reach my goals for either running or losing my fluff!

So the running I’ll keep in my schedule. At least it’s something!

I’ve known for years that winter weather effects my mind and body more than it does for some people. My depression is so much harder to fight against when the sun hides and the temps are so cold.

Seasonal depression is no joke! I’m doing pretty well right now and I’ll chalk that up to staying busy and running with my friends. I won’t let it completely overtake my life, but you can bet that there are moments I just give in and don’t do anything. It just is how it is for me.

Today is a running after work day. I’m looking forward to it even though it’s going to be cold and rainy. I’m sure we will stick to the heated sidewalks if that’s the case so we don’t have to deal with ice!

When I get home from that, I’ll likely do a whole lot of nothing until it’s bedtime. You know what? I’m perfectly good with that!

We don’t need to be perfect and on the go all the time. It’s exhausting! Finding motivation isn’t easy sometimes. But we sure don’t have to have it all together every moment.

Relax. You’re not alone.

Leave a Reply

