Do Some Good

Yesterday I had the chance to help someone. In truth, most of my life is about helping others. Every job I’ve ever had has been about serving in some way. It’s just who I am and what I do!

But yesterday, while I was at my office, I got a text from one of the girls I work with on the weekends. Yes, I have too many jobs, but you gotta do what you gotta do!

Anyway, she was sick. She is NOT the kind of girl who calls in, I know this after only working with her for a month. She’s a tough girl, but there’s a lot of crud going around, so I completely believed her. She asked if I could work her shift that evening. The only thing I had planned after work was my Tuesday run, but helping her felt like a much more important thing to do!

So, I did. I know it doesn’t seem like a lot, but changing plans can be difficult for me. I have very little control over what happens in my life sometimes so when I make a plan I can get a little overwhelmed when the plan changes, especially when it’s last minute.

I finished out my day at the office, went home to change clothes, and went in to the restaurant. It was actually busier than I imagined, so I happily brought home a decent amount of tips for only working 4 hours!

Sure, that means I actually helped myself, but I felt like I helped not only my sick co-worker, but the rest of the staff as well. Leaving the place with only one server was NOT going to happen if I could help it!

Doing things for others can benefit us in so many ways, not just extra tips for our savings account!

When was the last time you held open a door for someone? Offered to help an overwhelmed mom carry a couple of bags while she was trying to wrangle her three kids into the car at the grocery store? Smiled at that overworked cashier and told them not to worry… there’s no rush.

Little things like that sure can help someone. You never know what people are going through!

I know the one big-ish thing I did for someone yesterday, but I can also think of a couple others, and they all make me smile.

I think because I’ve had so many battles with depression that doing something nice for someone else is just about the only way I can make myself feel better some days. I’m in a pretty good place right now, at least most of the time, but you never know what another person might be going through. Why not be nice?

Being helpful when I can is one way I battle my own demons. Believe it or not, when I help someone, my own mood goes a little higher. Have you tried this kind of free therapy? I highly recommend it!

 

One thought on “Do Some Good

  1. Thank you a bunch for sharing this with all people you really recognise what you’re speaking approximately! Bookmarked. Please additionally seek advice from my site =). We could have a link exchange arrangement among us!

    Like

Leave a Reply

