Avoiding The Subject.

As much as possible today… I’m avoiding the subject.

The main subject on the news, on social media, everywhere really, will be the inauguration. I just can’t go there.

I don’t want to get political. I don’t want to judge others. I don’t want any negativity today or any day.

Remember yesterday I talked about attitude?  Well, today my attitude is that life is good, nothing bad is going to happen today, and while change is coming it’s not going to change overnight!

Change is inevitable. It’s part of life and it keeps things interesting! Whether your excited or nervous about the major changes about to happen in Washington, I feel like the best thing we can do is stop bashing each other.

I have “friends” on Facebook for instance that have done NOTHING but post negatively worded and frankly offensive things to those of us who may not have voted for the incoming president.

You might find this hard to believe, but I’m a moderate liberal living in a conservative area. I find talking politics with those around me to be very frustrating. Most don’t truly want a debate, they want to beat me up for not believing as they do.

So I avoid the subject.

I will have a hard time doing so today because my office has a very large television in the staff room. Every time I go and take a short break there today I’m bound to be bombarded with coverage of the events in Washington. There will be comments. I will have a hard time being quiet, but that’s what I will do.

Because arguing while I’m trying to work with people I truly do care about is definitely NOT the attitude I want today or any day!

My feelings will likely be hurt more than once today, but that’s my problem. I just don’t want to talk about it. I’ll avoid the subject.

Today I will focus on sunshine and rainbows… even though it’s raining like crazy and I’ll be working a very long day.

Today I will try and remember that change isn’t always bad. If there isn’t change there isn’t growth! Then where would we be? I certainly don’t want things to stay the same, well maybe some things, but not all things are perfect.

That’s another thing… perfection is NOT possible. No president, no administration, no person is perfect.

Change can be scary, but it doesn’t mean the end of the world. No matter how you voted, let’s just focus on the good, today and in the days to come.

If you can’t say something positive, don’t say anything.

Avoiding the subject doesn’t mean I don’t have an opinion, it just means I want to still get along with people in the days and years to come! I think this decision is one I can live with long term.

I would say I’ll avoid social media today, but realistically I know that won’t happen. Besides, miracle of miracles happened yesterday…. my Mom got on Facebook!  About time!

Leave a Reply

