Not About Driving (and yes, there’s a typo)

I’m a great driver. At least I think I am! I’ve been doing it for a long time now and have a great record!

But this post isn’t about driving.

I have been thinking a lot lately about the direction of my life. Mainly about the direction of my health. I’m very ready to get some answers, and the call to make the next doctor appointment needs to happen this week.

Two years ago I felt like I was in the best shape of my life. I was lean, fit, had endurance and strength for days. I was 42 and in better shape than most kids half my age!

Now I’m fluffy, tired, and frustrated. Sure, I’m back to being able to run, which is awesome… but I’m still not where I want to be. I’m not sure I’ll ever feel like I once did, but I just want to get closer to that feeling.

The road to a healthy life for me hasn’t been straight at all. It’s been filled with twists and turns and all sorts of ups and downs. I guess that difficulties build character, but I’m ready to just live!

I think most of us have things in our lives that feel like we never really get where we want to be. Like the road isn’t as straight and smooth as we would like. Lately my entire life feels that way and it’s making me crazy!

I’m going to just keep putting that pedal to the metal, figuratively speaking, and pushing myself forward. I see no alternative and you all know I’m not afraid of hard work! It may take me longer than I’d like, but I’ll get there.

That healthy happy place is out there. I’ve seen it. I’ve felt it. I know I can get back there again, but it may mean some more help than I was having before to get over whatever issues are happening in this body.

I know my finances are going to work themselves out, or at least they better as I’m working hard to make it happen!

I have friends and family who love me. Even when I’m alone I know I’m never alone!

Winter is here and although it’s been a fairly mild one so far, it’s not over yet. We have a couple more months of cold, gloomy, maybe even icy/snowy weather. I need to push through and know that in a few months there will be sunshine and warm weather!

Even the road to the next season is never straight! That’s OK too…. the tests of those turns build character and make me stronger.

I guess I’m writing this so that you know you’re not alone in your journey to whatever your working toward. Straight roads do not make skillful drivers. We should all be ready for NASCAR soon, don’t you think????

Leave a Reply

