Packzi Day?

So, here’s the thing. I must confess that I have had exactly one packzi in my life. I love a good donut, but these are different… have you had one?

Apparently they are a Polish donut made specifically for Fat Tuesday. They are filled with lots of different gooey fillings and are exactly as decadent as they seem.

I think it’s a Midwestern thing to indulge on these the day before Ash Wednesday, before the beginning of Lent, but my family didn’t get into that when we were young. I’ve had one as an adult, but they really don’t call to me usually. I may change my mind today and go for it? We will see!

Lent was also something we didn’t really adhere to when I grew up. My family stopped going to church for the most part when my parents divorced until I started going again in high school. Since then I’ve been fairly consistent and being in the praise band helps that, but lately I’ve been pretty slack on my attendance.

It’s not because I don’t believe. If you know me, you know I identify as a Christian, but all the traditional stuff just wasn’t in my head as a kid and can be hard to follow through. Of course, Fat Tuesday isn’t a church thing… it’s definitely just a society thing, but even that wasn’t ever something I took part in. I’ve never been to Mardi Gras. Doesn’t really interest me.

That’s not to say I don’t indulge sometimes. Lately too much! But I am glad I have a habit of running after work on Tuesdays. Even if I decide to indulge today, I’ll likely burn a few hundred calories tonight!

I guess I just was wondering if anyone else enjoys Fat Tuesday? Will you be following any traditions today, tomorrow? Do you give up something for Lent? I realize that’s more of a Catholic thing, but a lot of my friends are Catholic, so I wonder… do people still do that?

Will you be eating your favorite decadent treat today? I honestly haven’t decided yet! I know my body certainly doesn’t need it…. does it ever?

Leave a Reply

