Wise Words.

For a few years now I’ve been spending a few minutes every morning reading something that makes me better.

I’ve read books on leadership, business development, team building. But my favorites are those that make me a better person. Happiness, life lessons, and learning how to be my best self will never go out of style!

So this past week or so I’ve been reading Jim Rohn’s Greatest Life Lessons. The man has amazing insight and a way to tell it like it is.

“If you don’t like how things are, change it. You are not a tree.”

“Happiness is not something you postpone for the future; it is something  you design for the present.”

“We must all suffer one of two things: the pain of discipline or the pain of disappointment.”

“Happiness is not by chance, but by choice.”

So as I was reading lines like these this morning I realized that he makes so much sense. We can’t live our lives in the future… I’ll be happy when I save enough money for that vacation… we must live our lives NOW with happiness!

Being happy with what we have while working on what we want in the future is the whole point!

As someone who suffers from depression and anxiety, it’s not always easy for me to see the joy in each moment. Sometimes I just want to stay in bed all day. But I can find joy even in that if I look hard enough. Because my bed is a warm and safe place and if that’s what I need at any given time, I can be thankful that I have it available to me and move on from there!

We all should be happy, at least as much as we can be, every day. It’s not always easy, but I’m telling you it’s possible.

If it’s possible for me, it’s possible. I don’t want to tell you what you have to do, but I want to help you see that life is good! Better things are possible! There is nothing wrong with being happy while working on a goal!

Last night I had the chance to join my running club as we met up with two other “sister” clubs from neighboring cities for a joint group run and some social time. It was a fun night!

Meeting new people can be a little intimidating, especially when a lot of them already know each other, but there were plenty of my own friends there too, so I went in confidently.

We ran a route I was familiar with, even in a high wind situation, it was a great evening for a run. I ran a lot of it by myself, just couldn’t seem to find anyone about my pace, and that was fine. More time to talk when we got back to the meeting place and there was food and door prizes, and beer!

I would have been happy with just that, but when my ticket number was called for a prize and I was handed a free entry to the Lake Michigan Road, Trail, Sand 10k… well, that was just the icing on the cookie!

You see, that race is one I’ve done two times. It’s a FUN but very tough route over road, through trails, down the beach, up TWO sand dunes… DOWN the dunes (my favorite part) and back through the trails and road to the start/finish line. Last summer I was too sick to run and I missed out. Since I’m regularly running again and feeling much stronger, I have no doubt I’ll be there this year and a free entry makes that even more possible!

I wasn’t going to sign up for races this year. I just don’t want to spend the money to run. Now I can do one of my favorites with no cost! How perfect! I can find a TON of happiness in this situation!

My challenge for you today is to be happy. Even if you’re not feeling it… find something about today that makes you happy and build on it tomorrow. If you’re too busy focusing on being happy when… you’ll miss out on what’s amazing about today!

Leave a Reply

