Love Yourself

I know I usually do my Sunday update on my running, but I took this week as a sort of recovery week and ran twice, a 5k each time, so I’ll update next week when I get a good amount of miles in again. My feet were bothering me and I knew I had to work Saturday morning and it just seemed like a good week to taper back so I can keep going!

So yesterday I needed a new personal development book because I finished the one I had going. I didn’t want to drive to the bookstore, I’ve read every hard copy I have here that even remotely interests me at the moment, so I hopped on Amazon and downloaded a couple books on my Kindle.

The one I decided to start first seems completely appropriate for where I am in my life right now. It’s called Unfu*k Yourself: Get out of your head and into your life, by Gary John bishop. Seems like something a lot of us could learn from, right? Well, I’ve only just started it and I’ll be honest, it’s a slap in the face I need right now.

I’ll update more on it later, but I think I will love this book. The first thing he talks about it how we all have our little inner monologue going on throughout our lives. If we speak to ourselves in a negative way all the time we damage ourselves in ways we can’t even imagine!

Now, as I haven’t gotten to the point of the book yet, I don’t want to draw too many conclusions. Suffice to say that the quote I chose to use for my title this morning is something I need to focus on each and every day!

Stop hating  yourself for everything you aren’t and start loving yourself for everything you already are.

Duh!

Easier said than done, at least for me. But I’m working on it. I think we are all a work in progress, right?

As much as I’m proud of the things I’ve already accomplished in my life, it’s easy to focus on the things I haven’t done. But if I focus on those as a negative that only serves to make my life seem insignificant! If I just love myself for the things I’ve done, the things I already am, life is much more meaningful and happy!

Here’s just a short list of the things I’m going to love myself for today…

  • I am a mom of two boys who are entering adulthood.
  • I have a degree in music.
  • I am a loyal friend.
  • I am married to the love of my life.
  • I am a good daughter.
  • I am a hard worker.
  • I am creative and always have a song in my head.
  • I smile at strangers.
  • I hold the door and use manners in public.
  • I know how to laugh with my whole body.

So yeah, I’m not a bad person. I’m not perfect, far from it, but who wants perfection anyway? It’s much more fun to just be me!

3 thoughts on “Love Yourself

Leave a Reply

