Sick Day…

Sorry I was MIA the last couple of days. My body decided to catch a nasty head cold! Thankfully it never got super bad, but I slept and feel a lot better today. Other than rescheduling my dentist appointment for yesterday and not running the last two days, it wasn’t as bad as it could have been.

This has been a bad year for a lot of my friends in regards to sickness, so I’m not complaining. I know it could have been so very much worse! I know several people who ended up in the hospital, for crying out loud! Spending two days laying around the house feeling like crud is nothing!

I’ve heard about this amazing medicine that’s been out on the market for a while called Zicam. You take it at the first sign of a cold and it’s supposed to make the cold disappear faster. I’d never tried it before, mainly because I rarely get colds, but I decided to try it this week and I swear it worked! I don’t think I would have been back to work today if I hadn’t been taking it! I’m a believer, and I’ll use it in the future, that’s for sure!

Besides that, my favorite home remedies have always been soup and crackers and Vernor’s ginger ale. I stocked up on both and they came in handy. Vernor’s is a Michigan thing, but I’m sure other ginger ales would help too. Something about the ginger helping the tummy, but I also like the bubbles!

Anyway, I’m feeling better. I’m back to work and will do my best to keep up my energy throughout the day. Planning to try and run tomorrow, but it will depend on how today goes whether that happens or not. If I have to sleep in a bit tomorrow and go alone I will!

So it’s spring break for a lot of people around me. Many of them will be traveling to warmer climates for a nice vacation, but I’m working instead. Nothing new, I haven’t taken a vacation like that in a long time. No biggie, it’s just the way it goes. I’m just happy to feel like myself again! I wouldn’t complain if the temperatures would climb just a bit, but it is Michigan after all!

What do you do when you’re sick? Do you power through, or take the time to heal first? I know I usually power through a cold, but this one came on fast and I took half the day off on Wednesday to sleep… so glad I did that. Puking and fevers for me are automatic stay home days, but that didn’t happen either. I felt a fever coming on, but it never developed. I seriously got lucky!

I’m going to be loading up on veggies today, that’s for sure. Hopefully that will help boost my system and get it back on track so I don’t relapse this weekend! I don’t like being sick. Nobody does!

Leave a Reply

