Overdue Recap

Sorry, this insane sinus pressure has been taking me well out of my game this week. It’s not fun at all! But, I made it out of bed at least. Figured I hadn’t updated my running goal in a couple weeks because my mileage has been quite low. This week, in fact, I ran 3.2. miles on Tuesday and got sick Wednesday… so that was all for the week. Ugh.

Anyway, since it’s been a while, I have made some progress. About 20 miles total in three weeks. Should be that much in a week, but I’ll try and catch up when I feel better. The weather is starting to come around too, which should help me get motivated.

So my journey resumes in Indiana, and I’m now south of Fort Wayne, just east of Bluffton. Sure is fun to Google these little towns as I pass by them virtually. This one seems to be a small town of about 10,000 people. I’m sure it has some remarkable qualities, but according to Wikipedia not much has happened there! Don’t worry, Bluffton! You’re on the map!


At least I feel like I’m still moving forward! Truly, I have some big catching up to do this summer!


Just one more thing I want to share today, because it’s a date that always hits me emotionally. I know it’s coming, I can read a calendar, but every year it’s like a slap in the face. It’s my Dad’s birthday.

971163_10151491595955780_710871567_n

He would be 72 today, but he’s been gone nearly 24 years. He was 48 when he died. He never got to see my sister and I get married and hold his grandkids. I miss him every day. I try not to get angry, but it honestly does get me mad sometimes. Mad that it’s not fair, because we never got to have so many of those memories other people take for granted.

Our story wasn’t an easy one, he was a complicated man and ours was a complicated life. But he was my dad. He loved us and did his best, even if we didn’t realize it.

In a couple of weeks I will be 45. He was 45 when I graduated high school. He died three years later. I want to make sure that doesn’t happen to me! I have an appointment for a check up this week and I have a list of questions and things I want checked to make sure I’m here for my family.

I may be sick this week, but I’ll get through it. I will run this week. I will reach this crazy running goal of mine. I will not let my depression win this day. I made it out of bed today… what’s your super power?

Leave a Reply

